PDA

View Full Version : Chance to go APR for 01 1.8T for $250, should I GOAPR??



IKE20VA4
07-05-2005, 09:00 PM
Guy in my area has a CH box for a tiptronic. My car is manual and CH box. He says it can be recoded with vag com. It makes sense, but I'm not sure. It has stock/chipped mode, he said maybe race. The main thing is compatibility. Will it work?

Anyone care to comment on their APR setup? How do you like your's?

Thanks a lot

AudiGuy666
07-05-2005, 09:04 PM
I have APR . Its great . But what is this CH box bit ?

IKE20VA4
07-05-2005, 09:08 PM
the CH is the ending #/letter of my ECU box. it was a late 2001 ECU i think

so you like it? that's good to hear :)

ianlionzion
07-05-2005, 10:55 PM
do it. it will work.

your best alternative would be the giac x-chip, but i heard the apr is smoother.

http://forums.audiworld.com/a4/msgs/1520369.phtml

UCFQuattroguy
07-05-2005, 11:26 PM
I've heard the same thing from a few Jetta/GTI guys. If you're looking for good peak numbers, then GIAC is for you. If you want the better all 'round performance, then go w/APR. After driving a few APR A4's, then buying My A4 with Wett programming already in it...the Wett is a lot like having an on/off switch for boost. APR seems very smooth and progressive.

IKE20VA4
07-05-2005, 11:41 PM
gosh now i can't wait until i get this! haha

thanks a ton for reinforcing it guys! probably will happen thursday night or friday sometime!!!

dustinhxc
07-06-2005, 12:45 AM
i have been rolling with APR for a few months now, wouldnt do any different, its perfect ; ) when you hit 15 psi without an upgraded turbo, you'll ge tthe best feeling ever, then if u do get turbo, wooooooooooooo aww yes..

AudiMV
07-06-2005, 03:01 AM
as long as it can be recoded for your 5spd do it!!! hell of a deal....got my giac x for $200 just the chip though, another $80 to get it soldered in

AudiLikeA4
07-06-2005, 11:27 AM
U'll need the APR home programmer to recode it to a manual, I know I did the same thing, home programmer costs $99 I believe from apr.

shreddervai
07-06-2005, 11:40 AM
nah dude you dont need it. just tell me how i can contact this guy, ill take it off his hands for you : )

IKE20VA4
07-06-2005, 11:43 AM
well i called apr today actually...for a final answer..lol

"greg" said that it should work as long as we do an immobilizer clone. Said nothing about a home programer. I have VAG COM and APR has a program called immobilizer cloner on their website that you use.

[up]

haha umm yeah...I just misplaced his information, sorry!

[drive]

Andrew A4
07-06-2005, 12:06 PM
Originally posted by ianlionzion
do it. it will work.

your best alternative would be the giac x-chip, but i heard the apr is smoother.

http://forums.audiworld.com/a4/msgs/1520369.phtml


I've driven all those chips. My two favorite are by far the MTM 1.4 bar chip what Randrew used to have in his 2001 black Avant and my current chip, a prototype chip from whom i shouldn't say which spikes at 22psi and holds at 18psi.

... and yes... my gas mileage around town sucks.

94jedi
07-06-2005, 12:10 PM
20V do it!!! I feel the same as when I replied to your thread on the vortex![cool]