PDA

View Full Version : Central lock pump broke again! No stronger piece of material than the graphite?!?!



10kredline
05-01-2013, 03:37 PM
My stupid central lock went bye bye again! I paid $50 just to replace the little piece of graphite in the pump and lasted only 1 year. Is there a better and stronger material available to replace than a weak graphite? Why graphite anyways? Should i just buy a whole new pump or replace that piece again. Damn german engineering!!![headbang]

RoadRage
05-01-2013, 04:01 PM
replace it with a pump from the junk yard. That's what I did. Cheaper too.

If I remember correctly, the pumps from passats work too.

10kredline
05-01-2013, 04:14 PM
replace it with a pump from the junk yard. That's what I did. Cheaper too.

If I remember correctly, the pumps from passats work too.

There's no junkyards with audis where i live (Los Angeles,ca) Im looking on either ebay or craigslist which theres not much selections and is pretty expensive. I got lucky with the $50 graphite piece on ebay.

ianwpb
05-01-2013, 04:36 PM
I have an extra..

jvega21
05-01-2013, 05:03 PM
Has anyone ever successfully bypassed/replaced or upgraded that thing? Seems like a silly design to operate things with vacuum.

Gearheadjarrod
05-01-2013, 05:23 PM
I got mine out of a golf at a junk yard in Ontario not far from you.
It's been two years and still going strong

ianwpb
05-01-2013, 05:29 PM
Has anyone ever successfully bypassed/replaced or upgraded that thing? Seems like a silly design to operate things with vacuum.

I agree.. I don't like the design. It's stupid. The non-DBW cars had cruise control that was engaged with vacuum.

As far as upgrading, that would probably be more trouble than its worth.

Seerlah
05-01-2013, 05:40 PM
Going to the junk yard this Friday. I can try and scoop one up for you. Just need to know what box you have.

Then there is this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Audi-A4-A8-Central-Lock-Pump-8L0-862-257N-replacement-rebuild-part-w-warranty-/200913192511?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Make%3AAudi%7CModel%3AA4&hash=item2ec75c063f&vxp=mtr

catbed
05-01-2013, 06:13 PM
Correct me if I am wrong, but VW MK3 locking modules have the same piece, no?

ianwpb
05-01-2013, 06:52 PM
Ill sell you mine.. Pm me if you're interested.

k0mpresd
05-01-2013, 07:02 PM
mk3 vw pump fits and doesnt break.

10kredline
05-14-2013, 05:20 PM
Ok, so I finally got a used pump from the junkyard that Gearheadjarrod told me about. Got it off a 2000 A4. It works fine but I can't get the remote reprogrammed for some reason. Plus, some features that I never had before suddenly changed with the new pump, like driving about 5 m/hr and doors lock automatically and unlocking the door manually and it unlocks all doors. I never had these features with the old pump. I looked up how to reprogram the remote but still doesn't work, any ideas guys?

Seerlah
05-14-2013, 05:34 PM
Copy and pasted from a thread I have subscribed. And this does indeed work. When I reprogrammed my replacement remote, I used this to get my remote window function back.


35-Central Locks: -- KWP-1281
VAG-COM Works fine (note: pre-'97 A4's may not have this module).

Recode locking options

[Select]
[35 - Cent. Locks]
[Recode - 07]
Enter the coding below
[Do It!]

Write down the existing coding for future reference.

A4 pre-1998 with Delta radio and anti-theft system
Standard Coding: 03468

A4 pre-1998 with Delta radio, anti-theft system and keyless entry
Standard Coding: 12172

A4 1998+ with Concert/Symphony radio and anti-theft system
Standard Coding: 03340

S4, A4 1998+ with Concert/Symphony radio, anti-theft system and keyless entry
Standard Coding: 16140

Add the following options to your coding number:

+64 Windows up, sunroof close, and windows down with remote.
-04 One touch unlock of all 4 doors and trunk
-1024 Remove horn honk when arming
+32 Auto lock/unlock of doors (Doors lock at 15 mph and unlock when key is removed)

So, if you want to have a 1999 A4 with Concert radio and anti-theft system and keyless entry, and you want to add window control with the remote along with auto-lock, then:
add 03340+64+32= 03436

10kredline
05-14-2013, 06:07 PM
Shit, I don't have Vag com...any other ways or do I need it in order for the remote to work?

Seerlah
05-14-2013, 06:35 PM
This will get your remote reprogrammed (another copy and paste). But the above requires a Vag Com for the specs listed.


You need both of your switchblade keys to re-program them, you can program up to five switchblade keys:

Take the key you do not want to program (if it already works) and put it in the ignition. Turn it one click forward.

Close and lock the drivers door with the second key with the window down (you can also do this from the inside of your car).

On the second key (the one in the drivers door) press the 'UNLOCK' button ONCE only, the lights will flash on the car, but the doors will remain locked

With the second key still in the drivers door, unlock then lock the door again.

Pull the key from the slot and also take out the key out of your ignition and than test the remote functions.

Repeat for second key fob / switchblade / key whatever you want to call it !!! Enjoy!!

You might end up doing it a few times to get the hang of the procedure so its all a smooth one step type of thing and the comp will learn it! NOTICE if you are too slow / too fast this will not work!!

Found this online. I have used it before and it works. Good luck.

onemoremile
05-14-2013, 06:58 PM
You can apply a thin coat of epoxy resin to the graphite fan and it will really help it stay together. Tape off the mating surfaces before applying resin.

10kredline
05-15-2013, 03:37 PM
Thanks again Seerlah, you always come through.