PDA

View Full Version : I need to change the head gasket on my 1997 Audi a4 2.8L V6



ponyboy
04-30-2013, 04:09 PM
I need to change the head gasket on my 1997 Audi a4 2.8L V6. Is there anything special I need to do? I'm pretty sure I need to take off the intake so I know I'll need to change that gasket.

ianwpb
04-30-2013, 04:45 PM
Head gasket or Valve cover gasket? Two very very different things...

Cgoon009
04-30-2013, 05:10 PM
Yes very different

ponyboy
04-30-2013, 05:29 PM
Its my head gasket I changed the valve cover gaskets a little under a year ago. I can see it leaking where the block and the head meet when I crawl under the car. My check engine light is giving me a fuel bank 1 fuel bank 2 /vacuum leak code

Noma12vA4
04-30-2013, 06:01 PM
mehhhh toooooo, buy the HG kit from blauparts or ECS. Definitely do your research, its a lot more extensive than just taking off the intake.....

http://www.12v.org/maintenance/repairs/headgasket.php

ponyboy
04-30-2013, 06:25 PM
Sweet baby jesus why does audi make things so complicated. I thought all I'd have to do is take off the intake and remove the heads. I love this car when it runs but its a pain in the ass to work on and getting way to expensive to maintain.

Noma12vA4
04-30-2013, 06:34 PM
yeaaa its a give and take relationship[headbang] but be thankful you have the 12v v6, its one of the easier audi engines to do a head-job on from what I have heard.

Prep prep prep, is all i gotta say and take your time if you DIY. I still haven't gotten around to pulling my heads after 2 mo's of research, im planning on attacking it once I get through final exams...

Cgoon009
04-30-2013, 09:10 PM
Sweet baby jesus why does audi make things so complicated. I thought all I'd have to do is take off the intake and remove the heads. I love this car when it runs but its a pain in the ass to work on and getting way to expensive to maintain.

Yup thats why I was hoping you meant Valve covers, not heads

Nollywood
05-01-2013, 04:57 AM
I find the 12V head gaskets easier to replace, compared to the 1,8T.

Tanzimur
05-01-2013, 08:26 AM
I find the 12V head gaskets easier to replace, compared to the 1,8T.
Your saying the 12v I is easier than the 1.8t? Seriously I just wanna know or future prefrencess if anything were to go bad

walky_talky20
05-01-2013, 09:01 AM
I prefer working on the 1.8T. Mostly because it's faster when I'm done, compared to the 12v, lol.

But seriously, I'd say a headgasket on the 1.8T is easier because there is only 1 head to deal with, and the exhaust is easier disconnect and such. Definitely the 2.7T is the worst in this chassis, lol.

Artiemas
05-01-2013, 09:04 AM
I prefer working on the 1.8T. Mostly because it's faster when I'm done, compared to the 12v, lol.

But seriously, I'd say a headgasket on the 1.8T is easier because there is only 1 head to deal with, and the exhaust is easier disconnect and such. Definitely the 2.7T is the worst in this chassis, lol.

Looks like a vacuum line popped off.

Time to pull the engine.

Cgoon009
05-01-2013, 09:20 AM
I prefer working on the 1.8T. Mostly because it's faster when I'm done, compared to the 12v, lol.

But seriously, I'd say a headgasket on the 1.8T is easier because there is only 1 head to deal with, and the exhaust is easier disconnect and such. Definitely the 2.7T is the worst in this chassis, lol.

http://cleanaudidotcom.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/g1336547430342431815.jpg

walky_talky20
05-01-2013, 09:25 AM
Looks like a vacuum line popped off.

Time to pull the engine.

ROFL becuz TRUTH.

Kromodus
05-01-2013, 09:36 AM
I am crossing my fingers for you that it's just the gasket that is bad. Check for warping at the head and block. If it's just the head, say a quick prayer to the Audi Gods. If your block is warped then run. [headbang]

ponyboy
05-01-2013, 10:26 AM
I don't think its the block because I can get the car to start when I gas it but it runs ruff and I just changed the coolant temp. switch and it ran perfect for three days after I changed it and then this happened

Tanzimur
05-01-2013, 02:16 PM
try a compression test before you do anything to be sure its not a vac linne

ponyboy
05-01-2013, 05:00 PM
There was a bit of oil on the skid plate and you can see wet oil on the bottom the head where it meets the block. I found this when I checked the oil and saw it was low when I add oil it start leaking. I'm considering take this to a shop to get it fixed but with my money running low I may try to do this my self still not sure or confident about undertaking this task on my own

Dominolydon
05-01-2013, 05:30 PM
It's almost def not the head gaskets. Cam plugs on back or cam chain tensioner gaskets or valve cover gaskets are far more likely

ponyboy
05-02-2013, 04:22 PM
I hope its just a cam plug or cam chain tensiorner gasket. I know it's not a valve cover gasket because I new one put on it fairly recently. what makes you think that I'm still a novice when it comes trouble shooting audi's Dominolydon

Artiemas
05-03-2013, 12:15 PM
Head gasket failures are not common at all on these cars.

Unless your stove didn't work and you really really wanted a fried egg - so you drained your coolant and used your block as said stove top

ponyboy
05-03-2013, 01:34 PM
I looked at the car today and found that is was leaking coolant from somewhere. I can't find exactly where its coming from but there is some on top of the oil pan on the passenger side????? There's no coolant mixed in with my oil which I've heard is sign of a blown headgasket. I just change the coolant temp switch I don't know if that has anything to with it. IMAG0320.jpg
This is the old switch.

Artiemas
05-03-2013, 01:44 PM
Link doesn't work, have to host the images somewhere.

Anyways, check your expansion tank front and back. They often crack and leak coolant. Mine is.

ponyboy
05-03-2013, 03:52 PM
Yeah my expansion tank does leak but that's on the driver side and further back. I checked the car a wensday and there was no coolant leak. I'm not sure if the weather had anything to do with it because I did get pretty cold yesterday. The link is of my old coolant temp switch try this one. the coolant temp sensor autozone sold me looks a lot different and that switch was in the place they said the sensor was suppose to be. I'm not really worried about that because when I change the switch the car ran perfect for 2 or 3 days and this happened.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=350c491bf2&view=att&th=13e34065b4319861&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P-i82uEGBqnSKqeJC4-DoH1&sadet=1367620974965&sads=ZZO9mOVTjVu0LH5wMdZnOwHLBIc&sadssc=1

Artiemas
05-04-2013, 07:50 AM
I believe when you buy an aftermarket coolant temp switch, they are supposed to be at least a different color? Blue or Green or something.

ponyboy
05-04-2013, 09:38 AM
Yeah that's the old one. The new one I got from autozone is green and after I changed that it ran fine and it wasn't leaking