PDA

View Full Version : Stalls When Warm Outside

JimH79
04-22-2013, 05:45 PM
First, let me say I am not an Audi expert nor am I an expert mechanic. I have a 2001 Audi B5 A4 that seems to start and run fine until it has been driven 15 minutes or so and is > 80 degrees outside. The car will stall when I let off the gas pedal and then has to sit for at least 3 - 5 minutes and then will start again. The longer the car sits the longer it will run before dying again, which tells me the more it cools off the longer it runs. The car is not running hot it is running in the normal temperature range. I am hoping that someone has experienced this problem and can help me. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!

contrldsub
04-22-2013, 05:54 PM
intake air temp sensor might be faulty. it really could be many things to be honest. is the engine light on?

JimH79
04-22-2013, 08:33 PM
Engine Light is on... I've been doing some research on the internet and it seems like the most common answer is that it would be running really lean on fuel. I don't know if it may be the fuel pump but I will check the intake air temp sensor as well. Thanks so much. Any other advice would be appreciated.

thenj3
04-22-2013, 08:38 PM
Find out what code is tripping the check engine light. That will be your answer.

TJN0923
04-22-2013, 09:53 PM
Check the ecu box for blown relays. My car did something similar for the longest time.My car would do a cold start every time. Yet would never turn on when it was hot or if I would stop and turn it back on real quick. My mechanic was able to help me out with it. Definitely too tricky for me.

contrldsub
04-23-2013, 11:29 AM
Find out what code is tripping the check engine light. That will be your answer.

^^^^^^^^^^^^

woolveren
04-24-2013, 06:25 AM
intake air temp sensor might be faulty. it really could be many things to be honest. is the engine light on?