PDA

View Full Version : Temp Gauge and Oil Temp Gauge staying at 0



Jovanny
04-14-2013, 07:52 PM
Hey guys,
I just bought my 2001 A4 1.8t a few weeks ago, without really paying a ton of attention to the temp and oil temperature gauge. I know, that probably wasn't very smart. But, now about two weeks have passed and I haven't really done anything to fix them. The thing is that the other day, I drove it pretty rough and it made the Temperature gauge work, I got to about half way on the scale, I pulled over and the engine was HOT, it was smoking a little too.. So, I waited for it to cool a bit and drove it home. Ever since then, the temp gauge gets to about the 2-3 line SOMETIMES. If somebody could please tell me what's going on, that would be great. Thanks in advance.

turbo_bootin
04-14-2013, 08:43 PM
Change your thermostat.

QuattroGinger
04-15-2013, 03:15 AM
^^^would be my first.

as far as the oil temp not working you first check to make sure the sensor is plugged in at the oil pan. if so is it a Hella brand? most aftermarket ones do not monitor temp. if its not Hella i would purchase one. i have a spare that was used for roughly 4 months if you want. im having a problem as well with oil temp not reading and thought my new sensor went bad so i replaced it and it still isnt working. thinking mine might be a faulty wire to sensor.

rusky04
04-15-2013, 06:40 AM
Check your temp censors,

csosnowski
04-15-2013, 08:20 AM
Thermostat. Engine coolant temp is never up to spec, therefore oil never gets up to temp due to oil cooler.

walky_talky20
04-15-2013, 08:52 AM
^Bingo. This guy right here.

QuattroGinger
04-15-2013, 10:30 AM
damn i wish that were my problem. ^^ lol, easy fixes!!!!

shinamura
04-15-2013, 02:59 PM
thermostat thumps up!

c0r3y.af
04-15-2013, 04:36 PM
I'm having the same problems myself. Oil temp skyrockets to 350 as soon as you start the car and coolant temp sits at 0. I've replaced everything and no go lol. Learned to just deal with it.

walky_talky20
04-15-2013, 09:06 PM
^Do the needles accurately represent the VCDS measuring block values in the cluster? Do the needles perform properly during an output test?

QuattroGinger
04-16-2013, 01:41 AM
^Do the needles accurately represent the VCDS measuring block values in the cluster? Do the needles perform properly during an output test?

Which measuring block represents oil temp?

walky_talky20
04-16-2013, 05:09 AM
Not sure, exactly. It is probably labeled, but it's definitely there.

Wraith600
04-16-2013, 04:43 PM
http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/m_blocks/130-137.html
Likely here

or here
http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/m_blocks/001-009.html

walky_talky20
04-16-2013, 04:45 PM
^No, I'm talking about Instrument Cluster measuring blocks. Those are for the ECU.

Jovanny
04-18-2013, 10:40 AM
Thanks guys, I bought the thermostat yesterday and will replace it today. Hopefully this fixes the gauges.

QuattroGinger
04-18-2013, 01:22 PM
^^keep us posted :)