PDA

View Full Version : Guess I should introduce myself...

AnotherMonday
02-24-2013, 04:47 PM
Hey guys, longtime lurker here.

I like the feedback and banter you guys have, so I figured to finally make an account and 'officially' post.

Proud owner of a '99 B5 A4 2.8L 5-spd, Volcano Black Mica. I've had her for almost 2 years, and we've have been through some heartaches and happiness, the majority self-inflicted due to ignorance. BUT, I'm pressed to do better, especially as it's getting more expensive to cover costs.

That being said, I'm almost a complete noob in wrenching, but I'm up for a challenge, especially if it'll save cash. As a freelance photographer and teacher, the funds aren't unlimited and, from what I hear and read, these aren't cheap vehicles to maintain. But it's all good. I'm in it for the long-run...

Anyway, I had a small list of questions:

1) I swapped out spark plugs today and on first crank, it sounded slightly rough, then evened out. Is this normal?

2) Bent my one of my rear passenger control arms. Should I just replace them with used parts or buy new? And should I do the entire rear or just the damaged side?

Seerlah
02-24-2013, 05:05 PM
Welcome!

Were the plugs gapped properly and are things running fine now? As for the rear arm, just replace it with a used one. Check the classified section on fourtitude to find someone parting their car and make an offer.

GOODBYNAAIR
02-24-2013, 05:09 PM
what he said ^^ and welcome [up] pics if you got them.

AnotherMonday
02-24-2013, 05:27 PM
It seems to be running similarly as before, with a bit more pep. *shrug*

From what I've read and was told, the NGK's come pre-gapped, but I checked anyway. What I saw ranged from .35-.40
But the real concern is a slight fluttering sound from the engine under load/accceration...

AnotherMonday
02-24-2013, 05:40 PM
what he said ^^ and welcome [up] pics if you got them.

Gotcha. Will post photos tomorrow. Thanks for the feedback!

Corrado_Guy
02-24-2013, 06:19 PM