PDA

View Full Version : Periodic no start but cranks (when warm) then fuel smell

ORcoast
12-26-2012, 12:59 PM
Good day all.
I am new to Audi but did a little homework before buying my 2002 A4 3.0, 6 speed quattro. Love the car and was not supprised to have a code or two. Car just went over 50k (miles) and sometimes throws a cooling system code and is now developing a no start issue when the car is warm then parked for a bit. With what I have read here it appears to be related to the CTS but I will report my code buddy shows the temp at 198+\~ a deg or two once up to temp at hwy speeds on a cool normal Oregon day. I am preparing to change te sensor this week but am curious as it appears to be working but I cannot verify if it is accurate. How does this potentially affect the start issue I have ( almost smells like an ol carb engine when flooded ). My sense tells me it must have some to do with the map thinking the engine is a different temp than actual thus incorrectly compensating the fuel air in the start cycle. I am wondering if there is other symptoms I should look for as well as while I'm in under the hood and parts are an hour away I want to make the most of my time. The car has had regular service by the previous original owner which I verified at the dealer which serviced it and judging from the immaculate condition of the whole car I do not believe she has been neglected in any way. Almost forgot. The code was 1296
Also I notice that it sometimes idols a little rough. Sounds ok but you can feel it

Thanks in advance for any input.
Dan

AudiA4MickC
12-26-2012, 07:51 PM
could be the temp sensor throwing off the map. a scanner would show temp and you could compare to a hand held temp gun at the sensor location. also hold the pedal to the floor to get rid of the flood condition. after half throttle, the fuel supply is shut off. this is by design.

ORcoast
12-26-2012, 08:01 PM