PDA

View Full Version : Rear O2 sensor DIY or advice?



Nevalite
11-13-2012, 11:25 AM
Hey,

I need to replace my rear O2 sensor, I have the intermittent code (forget the number atm) and I was looking for some tips on changing it. I know this sensor does not affect performance and it isn't throwing a CEL but I would like it fixed.

How exactly do you get a wrench on that thing?! Any tips or tricks?

seanj130
11-13-2012, 11:47 AM
get an O2 sensor socket wrench. When the engine is cold just slither your arm back there and loosen in. It is tight. You may be able to get it under the car? I never had tried that. I just get it from the stop.

Nevalite
11-13-2012, 11:52 AM
What size are the O2 sensors on our car? Is it standard?

walky_talky20
11-13-2012, 11:56 AM
Yes. 7/8"

jeffrey146
11-13-2012, 11:58 AM
i would just use spacers or get the rear ones coded out. car doesnt need them.

Nevalite
11-13-2012, 12:02 PM
I just get it from the stop

What do you mean?

I intended to try from underneath, is it possible?

seanj130
11-13-2012, 12:06 PM
What do you mean?

I intended to try from underneath, is it possible?


I get at it from the **Top** I have no idea if it is possible from underneath.

jvega21
11-13-2012, 12:12 PM
its a PITA, but youll get it. I used the rental O2 socket set from Autozone, im not a big guy, and i still couldnt get back there, but it will come out.
Or you could do what jeffrey146 said and get it coded out, so your ecu never looks for it. If you have a tune just look up if they offer it, i know my old 97 b5 couldnt do it, not sure about your 2000

jeffrey146
11-13-2012, 12:17 PM
Those things are fuggin expensive. i believe kompressed or something like that his name is does it... when i can afford to get my car off the road for a week or two ill send my ecu in to him.

Brens
11-13-2012, 12:26 PM
Would coding it out affect fueling? Cause I know when mine was bad I was getting terrible MPG because it ran rich. Put new ones in and back to normal.... just wondering.

jvega21
11-13-2012, 12:27 PM
PUREMS offered to do the code out when i got the stage 1 APR tune in my 97, but it didnt support it, but it was free with the tune.

howardfootball
11-13-2012, 02:00 PM
Would coding it out affect fueling? Cause I know when mine was bad I was getting terrible MPG because it ran rich. Put new ones in and back to normal.... just wondering.

The rear o2 sensor measures efficiency of the cat. If your primary o2 was bad, the car would get terrible mpg and run rich or lean.

howardfootball
11-13-2012, 02:01 PM
And OP, just get a tune that codes it out and never worry about replacing it.

nynoah
11-13-2012, 02:05 PM
Just head down to your local harbor freight and buy the socket you need. I would advise against the one that is off set. Those never work right for me. But the socket with a slot is only 12 dollars from them.

Seerlah
11-13-2012, 02:11 PM
Take off the top of your air box (provides working room), spray the bung with PB Blaster, let sit for like 20 min, place a 7/8" wrench, and apply some elbow grease.