PDA

View Full Version : Too early to change to synthetic?



Seerlah
11-12-2012, 02:09 PM
Roughly 250 miles on rebuilt engine. Broken in with Lucas Break in Motor Oil. Had the car on jack stands today for something really dumb, and figured drain the oil at the same time. Minimal shavings came out, which is a good thing. No chunks. And my magnetic drain plugs hardly had anything on it. Anyways, I have Shell Rotella T6 in my garage. So, it would def save me money if I could just swap it in now. But want to be sure it will be safe on the engine before I do. Or should I run some SAE 30 non-detergent motor oil for like another 150 miles or so? Thanks!

zerokiller698
11-12-2012, 02:58 PM
personally I'd feel comfortable with another 150 miles of non detergent run through the engine if it were my car.

TConklin821
11-12-2012, 03:01 PM
^agreed.

bw86
11-12-2012, 03:18 PM
I've always heard to use dino oil for ~1000 miles then switch over to synthetic.

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm
this guy says 1500

catbed
11-12-2012, 03:20 PM
This is what I did for my engine and it still runs, burns 0 oil.

Autozone SAE 30 non-detergent for 30 miles, then I switched to non-synthetic castrol(i believe) until 250 miles, then put in 5W-40 Castrol Syntec full synthetic.

Seerlah
11-12-2012, 03:32 PM
You think the 10w40 will be fine in the Tri-state area weather (NJ/NJ/CT)? I would rather go that route than the SAE30 route. If so, I'll pick some out tomorrow. I like Valvoline, despite what people's opinion.

This oil fine?: http://www.valvoline.com/products/consumer-products/motor-oil/10w-40/124

And Catbed, is this what you used?

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/sectiongenericarticle.do?categoryId=9009748&contentId=7018623

Seerlah
11-13-2012, 02:29 AM
Read the last post wrong. Anyways, picked up some Amsoil SAE 30 break in motor oil and will run that for roughly 750 miles (they say don't run this more than 1000 miles) then switch to full synthetic.

catbed
11-14-2012, 03:34 PM
You think the 10w40 will be fine in the Tri-state area weather (NJ/NJ/CT)? I would rather go that route than the SAE30 route. If so, I'll pick some out tomorrow. I like Valvoline, despite what people's opinion.

This oil fine?: http://www.valvoline.com/products/consumer-products/motor-oil/10w-40/124

And Catbed, is this what you used?

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/sectiongenericarticle.do?categoryId=9009748&contentId=7018623

Sorry, meant to say 5w-40. Off of VW502 approved oil list. And I don't use the magnatech. I think they just changed the name to Castrol Edge.


Read the last post wrong. Anyways, picked up some Amsoil SAE 30 break in motor oil and will run that for roughly 750 miles (they say don't run this more than 1000 miles) then switch to full synthetic.

I would have felt comfortable switching to a dino oil after 250 miles. 250 miles is a lot for only SAE30, IMO. The key time period for break in is the first 20 miles really, when the rings have a nice rough cylinder wall to seat against. I imagine that a factory fresh engine that has never run before might have some burrs and rough edges from machining/casting. In that case, I would hold off on the synthetic for a bit. But now some cars come from the factory with synthetic so [confused].

Sorry for the late reply as well.

Seerlah
11-14-2012, 05:50 PM
Amsoil SAE 30 break in oil came in today. Wish you would have posted sooner. Thinking I am going to run it for 500-750 miles then switch to full synthetic. And I have the Rotella T6 in the garage already. Depending on how my oil pressure looks at idle will dictate what oil I go to next.

catbed
11-14-2012, 10:00 PM
Amsoil SAE 30 break in oil came in today. Wish you would have posted sooner. Thinking I am going to run it for 500-750 miles then switch to full synthetic. And I have the Rotella T6 in the garage already. Depending on how my oil pressure looks at idle will dictate what oil I go to next.

Only reason I saw to switch over to dino oil rather than more break in oil was to turn up the boost. I broke it in doing WOT pulls at 12psi and letting it decelerate. Changed the oil and turned up the boost to 20 psi. You will be fine running Amsoil for another 500, I just chose a different route. [up]

Seerlah
11-15-2012, 02:12 AM
I broke in my engine boosting 18-21psi (can't remember). lol. But my turbo does not flow as much as yours does, so could have been roughly the same amount of air flowing with you at 12psi.