PDA

View Full Version : Replaced my O2 sensor...



Detroitfire23
09-02-2012, 08:21 AM
My CEL came on after I put a test pipe on & the first O2 came up as bad. So I just replaced it & the CEL is still on, so my question is, do I need a vag com, or can I just disconnect the battery to clear it? The car is still running in limp mode & making only 6lbs of boost.

Seerlah
09-02-2012, 08:40 AM
If you are in limp mode, you should be running lean. Either that, or you simply never took yourself out of it. What year A4 do you have?

Detroitfire23
09-02-2012, 11:52 AM
If you are in limp mode, you should be running lean. Either that, or you simply never took yourself out of it. What year A4 do you have?

"01 AMW quattro

Seerlah
09-02-2012, 12:00 PM
-Do a boost leak test
-Space out your secondary o2 sensor

What codes did you get?

Detroitfire23
09-02-2012, 12:07 PM
None that I can find & no I didn't space out the second O2 which is why I was surprised the first one went bad.

Seerlah
09-02-2012, 12:31 PM
Don't replace parts because of a DTC (diagnostic trouble code). Only replace parts if you are at least 85% sure that is the issue.

Start with a boost leak test and space out your secondary o2 sensor. Your 6psi could be for various reasons. But start with the most common, which would be a leak in your system.

Detroitfire23
09-02-2012, 12:46 PM
How do I go about spacing it out?

Seerlah
09-02-2012, 01:39 PM
http://store.42draftdesigns.com/O2-Sensor-Spacer_p_306.html

http://www.raimotorsport.com/Threaded-J-Pipe-with-Gas-Flow-Inserts-for-CEL-prev-p/11620vib.htm

http://www.raimotorsport.com/RAI-J-Pipe-for-CEL-prevention-p/11621vib.htm

http://vibrantperformance.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1022_1069&products_id=2009

http://vibrantperformance.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1022_1069&products_id=1604

http://vibrantperformance.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1022_1069&products_id=1605

http://www.034motorsport.com/fabrication-exhaust-plumbing-o2-sensor-spacer-banjo-style-ultra-low-profile-steel-p-22612.html

http://www.034motorsport.com/fabrication-exhaust-plumbing-o2-sensor-spacer-for-bosch-style-sensors-p-18938.html

Just to name a few options. Or you could do what I did...Clicky Click (http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/303801-DIY-Non-Fouler-Mod-to-Remove-CEL-for-Test-Pipe-or-High-Flow-Cat)

Detroitfire23
09-02-2012, 07:49 PM
Why did the first O2 take a shit & not the second? So I should just go ahead and do ur mod to keep the CEL from coming up, but will I still have to reset the CEL, or will the computer recognize it?

TConklin821
09-02-2012, 08:03 PM
I did the nonfouler mod as well. Got 2 nonfoulers from AutoZone, and I used them both.

Seerlah
09-02-2012, 08:11 PM
Why did the first O2 take a shit & not the second? So I should just go ahead and do ur mod to keep the CEL from coming up, but will I still have to reset the CEL, or will the computer recognize it?

I have had cases where the CEL disappeared on me, so it is possible it will go away by itself. But if not, just erase it.

Detroitfire23
09-02-2012, 08:15 PM
I have had cases where the CEL disappeared on me, so it is possible it will go away by itself. But if not, just erase it.

So I need a vag com to do that I assume?

TConklin821
09-02-2012, 08:41 PM
Nope, a simple code reader will do it.

TConklin821
09-02-2012, 08:43 PM
The one the guys at AutoZone and Advance can do it, but they might not clear them. I don't what your laws are like there, but in NY it's illegal for someone who isn't a state registered inspector to clear someone else's codes, or some shit. A kid I knew at AutoZone did it and got in huge trouble.

walky_talky20
09-03-2012, 07:30 AM
^Whoa, I didn't know that. I remember taking my friends Nissan to AutoZone to clear the codes while I was in college up in NY. We were in the process of tracking down the fault and we needed the codes cleared after replacing parts. So we went in, the guy scanned and showed us the code. Then I said "Ok, you can clear the codes", and he looked at me funny and was like "I'm not going to clear anything". Then I just grabbed the scan tool from him and hit CLEAR, and he literally looked the other way and was like [>_>]...

I didn't realize it was actually illegal or some crap. That makes no sense. They are codes. They are meant to be cleared, lol.

Seerlah
09-03-2012, 07:32 AM
That only got implemented recently. Before they were permitted. Not anymore.

Avant Nate
09-03-2012, 07:33 AM
Why not just buy an ebay cable and VCDS-lite for free? I'm also a fan of the Torque app and bluetooth OBD2.