PDA

View Full Version : engine rebuild help



Scottydo
07-30-2012, 07:22 PM
Will a 06a block work for a awm engine rebuild?

Seerlah
07-30-2012, 07:23 PM
The AWM is an 06A block. ATW and AEB are 058.

Scottydo
07-30-2012, 07:32 PM
Thought the awm was a 06b

howardfootball
07-30-2012, 07:53 PM
Thought the awm was a 06b

No such thing.

redline380
07-30-2012, 08:25 PM
^yes such thing. but for op, as far as i know, any 06a block will work. this means you are open to jetta's, beetle's, passat's, and newer a4's. i currently have an aug block out of a passat in my car. although the engine codes are different, the blocks are the same. its the stuff that attaches to the block that is different.

M-Hood
07-31-2012, 06:33 AM
no such thing.

2.0t FSI/TSI = 06B

howardfootball
07-31-2012, 06:38 AM
2.0t FSI/TSI = 06B

Maybe I should spend some more time in the B7/8 forum. I have never heard of anyone talk about an 06B before.

Scottydo
07-31-2012, 04:14 PM
Another question i had was once i rebuild the engine how do i set the timing on it?
-scott

redline380
07-31-2012, 05:00 PM
same as everyone else. ha but really if youre briging the head in to the shop to get checked, have them install the cams. it will save you a ton of hassel. then set the crank to tdc and the cam gear to tdc. its pretty simple as long as the cams ar set, which can be tricky

Scottydo
07-31-2012, 05:25 PM
Got ya I have no problem setting the crank setting the cams is what is confusing me

Seerlah
07-31-2012, 05:32 PM
I am currently semi-rebuilding my engine (new rods, pistons, piston rings, rod bearings, hone, cylinder pressure test, cylinder deck, surfacing block myself, short block still in engine). Dropped the cylinder head off to the machine shop today, and he is doing that part for me (dismantle and reassemble for pressure test). I marked on the cam gear with a mark on my belt. Did the same for my crank gear. This way, can't really goof on setting the timing correct. Told the machinist about my mark and not to remove it. He understood completely.

redline380
07-31-2012, 06:18 PM
yeah the cams are fucking tough. i tried doing it myself, with a homemade tool, and when i finally got the damn things in there, i was very unsure of whether or not there were 16 links in between the marks. keep in mind, the 16 links isnt actually alwasy 16 links. its confusing. i just said fuck it, im takin the head in to get pressure tested anyways, ill just have them put the cams in while they are at it. next time, i'll buy the actual cam chain tensiion tool. it would make it a whole hell of a lot easier

Scottydo
08-01-2012, 08:16 AM
okay so i guess the appropriate question is since my crank and my block are new how do i ensure my cams are matching up to tdc on my crank? Mabey ill go down to stasis and have them do it.

thenj3
08-01-2012, 08:32 AM
Once the cams are properly set, you lime up the mark on the crank gear to the mark on the block and the mark on the cam cover to the mark on the valve cover. it would be like following a timing belt job