PDA

View Full Version : Will the S4 turbo fit on our b5 a4's? (Borg Warner k03,the shorter one)



10kredline
05-16-2012, 07:22 PM
I need a temporary replacement for now, some guy with an s4 is selling one for $125 used. Will the short one fit on our cars?

shinamura
05-16-2012, 07:24 PM
thats tranverse versus longitudinal, so i dont believe so.

hazard860
05-16-2012, 07:26 PM
nope, the hot side has 4 bolts that attach it to the cat on the S4, a4 only has 3.

NeedingAnAudi
05-16-2012, 07:53 PM
thats tranverse versus longitudinal, so i dont believe so.

what.

10kredline
05-16-2012, 08:47 PM
Thanks guys, I figured. Don't want to risk buying it and find out the bolts aren't aligned like our k03 turbos.

walky_talky20
05-16-2012, 09:14 PM
I believe the CHRA is compatible though, only the housings are different. Well, I can't guarantee this, but I've heard of people doing it with success. So you may be able swap the housings from yours (assuming your exhaust housing and wastegate stuff is fine) and be in business. I plan on doing this swap this summer, actually.

Then, when you sell your car on craigslist in a few years, you can be "That Guy" who lists his A4 as being upgraded with an "S4 Turbo". And nobody will believe you...

andyrew
05-16-2012, 09:37 PM
Where you at?

10kredline
05-16-2012, 10:37 PM
I'm in california, LA. Buying a used turbo, swapping out the housing and all that stuff is too much of a hassle. I'm just going to save up a little more and just buy frankenturbo already. It was my original plan but the thing that's holding me back is $$$. Don't think my original k03 will last any longer though...fml

Nollywood
05-16-2012, 11:35 PM
thats tranverse versus longitudinal, so i dont believe so.

Transverse A4/S4? What're you on bro? [confused]

ianwpb
05-17-2012, 12:17 AM
thats tranverse versus longitudinal, so i dont believe so.

Are you a fact checker for fox news?

10kredline
05-17-2012, 12:55 AM
thats tranverse versus longitudinal, so i dont believe so.

hahaha, I think what he meant was that the positioning might be different. But yea, don't guess next time, when it comes to giving out information.

jaychen
05-17-2012, 01:11 AM
what.

This should be in the lolololololol thread

jaychen
05-17-2012, 01:11 AM
what.

This should be in the lolololololol thread

M-Hood
05-17-2012, 06:07 AM
I'm in california, LA. Buying a used turbo, swapping out the housing and all that stuff is too much of a hassle. I'm just going to save up a little more and just buy frankenturbo already. It was my original plan but the thing that's holding me back is $$$. Don't think my original k03 will last any longer though...fml

Fred2kA4 might have a used K03 off a 2001.

hazard860
05-17-2012, 06:38 AM
i can say i have the FT kit and love it. great kit for the price

10kredline
05-17-2012, 01:44 PM
i can say i have the FT kit and love it. great kit for the price

What are you running it with, in terms of software.

55fanatic
05-23-2012, 08:36 AM
When my K03 fails or in the fall, I will swap my K03 for a FrankenTurbo, I am running a unitronics stage 2 tune