PDA

View Full Version : Smoke from the steering column

Halfbreed
05-07-2012, 01:19 PM
I know im a S4 guy but the parts in question carry over so i thought i would try you B5 A4 guys to see if you can help as well.

Driving into work this morning I noticed a thin wave of smoke and a burning electronics smell (I'm an electronics tech in the navy so the smell is all too familiar) coming from my steering column/cluster area. The wave got a little worse but never bellowed and stopped when I got to my destination. After some searching it sounds like my ignition switch is going if not gone. I will be tearing the column apart when I get home.

Has anyone had this happen or have some helping insight?

Thanks

walky_talky20
05-07-2012, 01:25 PM
Yep, my first guess is ignition switch. That would be the high current device in that area with a matching high failure rate. It was probably melting the plastic housing and/or wiring jackets.

howardfootball
05-07-2012, 01:27 PM
Your kind isn't welcome in these parts, you better get steppin'... but on a more serious note, I don't think I have ever heard of anything like this happening. Post up what you find for future reference.

Halfbreed
05-07-2012, 03:05 PM
Thanks for the responses. Not whiff of smoke on the way home from work. I swear this car loves messing with my head.

walky_talky20
05-07-2012, 04:31 PM
Did you have more stuff on this morning perhaps? Specifically, headlamps or fog lamps?

Halfbreed
05-07-2012, 05:13 PM
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/484150-Smokin

Most of the damage seems to be cosmetic. My terminal 33 is shot for sure. Luckily i dont really use my cigarette lighter anyways.

Nevets57
05-07-2012, 05:39 PM
I had something similar to this happen in another vehicle of mine and it turned out to be the turn signal switch.

seanj130
05-07-2012, 07:41 PM
I had something similar to this happen in another vehicle of mine and it turned out to be the turn signal switch.