PDA

View Full Version : Tiptronic update, MAGNET?!



joeya103
05-10-2005, 07:53 AM
As some of you may remember, my tiptronic mode wasn't working at all. When I clicked it over, it didn't change the dash display, nor did it work when I tried shifting with it.

I got it checked out, and basically the only problem is that the magnet under the shifter plate is weak. The dealer wanted to charge me $819 for it because supposedly, they don't sell that magnet separately anywhere, so the whole shifter plate has to be replaced.

Question: is there any possible way to just buy the magnet from somewhere? If not, do I really have to get the whole shifter plate, and if so, where is the best/cheapest place?

Thanks in advance!

(Kind of relieved, they said that somehow, all my control arms are fine, no other problems with my arm...miraculous for a 98 a4 with 105K miles, eh? =P)

skene
05-10-2005, 07:56 AM
There is a mod for this... I dont remember if it they have it available on a mod thread of if it's on the "other" forum

bitterchild
05-10-2005, 07:56 AM
miraculous like a dealer dodging 4 hours of free labor. Pull the whole shifter plate from a junkyard car.

joeya103
05-10-2005, 08:32 AM
thanks, i think i'm gonna contact the junkyards around here...

anyone know if the magnet will be the same for all b5 audis? A4s and S4s etc? that might make it easier to find...i don't expect anyone to actually know this random info, but just a shot in the dark~

Viper966
05-10-2005, 10:44 AM
ya know mine did the same thing and it turned out my MAF was bad and throwing an intermitant CEL code... but when i swapped it it went back to normal....

u can recharge the magnet just get a stronger one and do strokes across the face of it....

marked001
05-10-2005, 11:24 AM
i think i have some magnets on my fridge i'm not really using..i could hook you up... lemme know.

joeya103
05-10-2005, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by Viper966
u can recharge the magnet just get a stronger one and do strokes across the face of it....

how do you "recharge" a magnet...don't you need some kind of expensive electrical equipment to do this?

do you think just some random magnet at some store would work? this is such a weird problem haha

(btw, fridge magnet guy, funny stuff =P)

bitterchild
05-10-2005, 02:08 PM
you can restore some of the magnetic field strength back to a permanent magnet by moving a stronger field over its surface. This lines up some of the fields to work together. Thought they taught this in middle school science?

Poopie
05-10-2005, 02:35 PM
just go to a hardware store and pick up the strongest magnet and rub the face of the magnet from the north pole to south pole going in the same direction each time.

4ingDrive
05-10-2005, 02:43 PM
Can't go wrong with neodymium.

joeya103
05-10-2005, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by 4ingDrive
Can't go wrong with neodymium.

What's neodymium?

Nice advice bitter...

and i have no idea if they taught that in middle school science. but who would remember that anyway haha. i was premed in college, took physics and the MCATs, and don't remember anything already!

B5A4
05-10-2005, 06:43 PM
When your at the junkyard, just pick up a 5 sp man and swap it in? [;)]

4ingDrive
05-10-2005, 07:16 PM
It's a really strong magnetic material. Works great for a lot of things but can be pricey.

almaster666
05-10-2005, 08:06 PM
this would be a good time for you to swap your auto to a manual...

skene
05-11-2005, 07:28 AM
Originally posted by almaster666
this would be a good time for you to swap your auto to a manual...

Easier said than done.

It's easier performing open heart surgery if you've never done it before or had medical training, than trying to transplant a manual into an automatic.

joeya103
05-11-2005, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by almaster666
this would be a good time for you to swap your auto to a manual...

because of one little magnet?? haha =P no thx, from what i hear, it's a VERY complicated, long, and expensive process to swap to manual.