PDA

View Full Version : Depo Prefacelift Headlights Installation Help!!



woolveren
04-20-2012, 10:45 PM
Hi,

I am about to install new Helix/Depo 2-piece prefacelift headlights on my car(98 Audi A4 1.8t).

Since this is the first time I am playing with headlights, I have couple of questions that are not answered in any of these threads.

http://www.audiforum.ca/showthread.php?t=60538
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/470440-Official-B5-A4-S4-Headlight-and-HID-Thread

Below is a picture of the headlight which I got. As far as I know, the D2S projector acts as the low beam in this headlight set???? (that's what they have mentioned in the product description).

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/305/img1020hw.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/35/img1020hw.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)


It also said that the headlight is a direct fit plug n play.

But when I checked the 5 pin round connector on the Depo Ecode set with multimeter, the D2S bulb is going to get power from the OEM High beam pin.

Is this the way it is supposed to work? Or do I need to swap the High and Low beam wires on the OEM connector?

coolgraymemo
04-20-2012, 10:58 PM
The projector is the low beam.

I don't know what's up with the wiring though.

woolveren
04-21-2012, 12:03 AM
Also, is the back cover for the headlight supposed to be fit air tight?

I took out the small cap at the center of the back cover to guide the D2S wires through it. I then put the ballast right behind that opening as you can see in the pictures below. The assembly looks pretty tight, but I can see gaps when looking through the sides closely and is not that air tight.

Is this going to be Okay? Did I install it correct?

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/2530/img1077s.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/841/img1077s.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/1660/img1072qa.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/685/img1072qa.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

woolveren
04-21-2012, 07:52 AM
any body?

Nollywood
04-21-2012, 08:37 AM
That's correct. It wouldn't be air tight, not even OEM, as they have vents to allow condensation to escape.

And the projector is definitely low beam, if it's linked to high, it's easy enough to swap the wires over.

woolveren
04-21-2012, 08:57 PM
Yeah, I have to swap the wires if they are linked linked incorrectly.

Also, I have a set of new fog lamps with grille which I bought from Bulgaria. The fog light is inbuilt to the grille and came with bulbs rated at H3 12V, 55W. Is it okay to run these fog lamps on prefacelift factory wiring?

Also is a 14 gauge wire enough for a non-hid Fog lamp?

woolveren
04-22-2012, 03:31 PM
Is it necessary to get the GROUND for fog lamps from the brown wire of the main headlight connector?

Or which one you recommend? Getting a ground from the negative terminal of the battery or splicing the ground wire of the headlight connector?

woolveren
04-23-2012, 10:25 AM
anybody knows??

Nollywood
04-23-2012, 12:01 PM
Is it necessary to get the GROUND for fog lamps from the brown wire of the main headlight connector?

Or which one you recommend? Getting a ground from the negative terminal of the battery or splicing the ground wire of the headlight connector?

When I fitted foglamps to my old '96 B5, I spliced into the brown earth for the headlamps, and it worked just fine. You don't need to run a separate earth.

Nollywood
04-23-2012, 12:03 PM
Yeah, I have to swap the wires if they are linked linked incorrectly.

Also, I have a set of new fog lamps with grille which I bought from Bulgaria. The fog light is inbuilt to the grille and came with bulbs rated at H3 12V, 55W. Is it okay to run these fog lamps on prefacelift factory wiring?

Also is a 14 gauge wire enough for a non-hid Fog lamp?

55W headlamps will work okay on the pre-facelift wiring. Not sure the figures for the wire weight, but if you go with the same thickness as used on the main beams, you can't go wrong. They are also rated at 55W.

woolveren
04-23-2012, 12:29 PM
55W headlamps will work okay on the pre-facelift wiring. Not sure the figures for the wire weight, but if you go with the same thickness as used on the main beams, you can't go wrong. They are also rated at 55W.

Actually I just checked the factory fog lamp in the headlight unit and it is also 55W. And I think the OEM headlight harness wire is 16 gauge. I'm thinking of going with a 14 gauge wire since the wires will be going down to the bumper (a bit more protection from mud) and guess it's OKAY.

Also, do I need to install any kind of heat insulation around these wires? (like the black insulator around the OEM harness)

Nollywood
04-23-2012, 12:39 PM
^^^ You don't need any heat insulation, unless you're trying to keep things more OEM.

woolveren
04-23-2012, 01:08 PM
^^^ You don't need any heat insulation, unless you're trying to keep things more OEM.

Ok cool. I think i've got all the information needed. Thanks for the replies..

Pumanator
04-23-2012, 03:03 PM
55W headlamps will work okay on the pre-facelift wiring. Not sure the figures for the wire weight, but if you go with the same thickness as used on the main beams, you can't go wrong. They are also rated at 55W.

FWIW, I have a prefacelift with 55W HIDs from DDMTuning and I needed a wiring harness as the factory prefacelift wiring was not adequate to draw enough current on a cold fire up. My radio and trip computer would reset almost every time. I ended up using a wiring harness relay to fix the issue. Hopefully you won't run into anything funny like that, but be aware that is likely the issue if you unfortunately do.

Good luck with the install!

woolveren
04-23-2012, 03:41 PM
FWIW, I have a prefacelift with 55W HIDs from DDMTuning and I needed a wiring harness as the factory prefacelift wiring was not adequate to draw enough current on a cold fire up. My radio and trip computer would reset almost every time. I ended up using a wiring harness relay to fix the issue. Hopefully you won't run into anything funny like that, but be aware that is likely the issue if you unfortunately do.

Good luck with the install!

I don't have a HID fog light, its a 55W H3 Halogen bulb.

Also, the D2S HID kit I got from DDMTuning is 35 watts. Hope this will not create any problems with the OEM harness..

woolveren
04-29-2012, 12:04 AM
A quick question;

Is it okay to mixup wires of different gauge for the fog lamp connection?

Right now, I have a 14 gauge splice wire coming from the Ground wire of the headlight connector, which is then spliced to an 18 gauge wire on a 2-pin deutsch connector and finally, 18 gauge wire from the deutsch connector is spliced to wires that came with the fog lamp.