PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust question

B5RiceEater
04-10-2012, 01:04 PM
Wassup , so im broke and cant afford a 1000 dollar exhaust and im trying to aim for a unitronic stage 2 plus to run on my frankenturbo f4L 1 requirement it a turboback exhaust whats the cheapest route i can go...i was thinking about a test pipe 3 inch with a 2.5 downpipe...im a bit of a noob when it comes to this and i search forums all day but couldnt come across the answer i was looking for...also would these bolt right up to stock size exhaust and would i benefit from this so i can possibly run the unitronic stage 2 plus tune thnx

B5RiceEater
04-10-2012, 01:06 PM
Also i dont really care about a CEL but my other question is if i put the o2 spacer i could still pass inspection or if i had the tune erase the code could i pass i have my inspectors license so -shrugs-

redline380
04-10-2012, 01:15 PM
cheapest route is buying used or having a custom exhaust bent up. i only paid 150$ for my 3inch and that included a flex pipe. I then bought a cheapo muffler from autozone for 40 and i have less than 200 into my 3inch exhaust. however, the guy wouldnt put it on for me because i wont be running a cat, so i had him cut the tubes a bit long so i can cut them up myself when its time to put it in.

Seerlah
04-10-2012, 01:19 PM
If you have a CEL, you automatically fail NY inspection. When it comes to readiness, you need to pass 9/10 (IIRC) or it is an automatic fail. They do a visual inspection of a cat converter (just to see if you have one). If you don't have one, you automatically fail.

Solution: HFC (Labree or 034 is my suggestion) with custom or used exhaust system.

B5RiceEater
04-10-2012, 01:20 PM
So redline your running a test pipe...with a custom made 3 inch downpipe and rest of tubing

QuattroGinger
04-10-2012, 02:16 PM