PDA

View Full Version : BT guys what kinda FPR are you running



Shhmaudi
10-24-2011, 02:17 PM
I am thinking about getting this one.. I know I know its ebay. But I feel that this is a very simple unit and would work?? Please advise other wise and post a link of the one I should get..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/UNIVERSAL-ADJUSTABLE-GAUGE-FUEL-PRESSURE-REGULATOR-Blk-/190574258365?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Make%3AAudi|Model%3AA4&vxp=mtr&hash=item2c5f1c68bd#ht_6079wt_1270

Seerlah
10-24-2011, 02:26 PM
Don't waste your money. Also, you would need to do something with the stock regulator and seat if you planned on using something like that. If using the stock rail, get an adjustable on that resembles the stock fpr, cut the feed line, and place an in-line gauge there. If you have a high fuel rail, the Aeormotive one is the way to go. And FWIW, I have a TM Tuning AFPR (for stock rail seat). But if I were to do it over again, I would get the Integrated engineering one. I chose the TM Tuning one because it can dial from like 2-5+ bar. Granted this isn't installed yet, but just what I picked up.

Shhmaudi
10-24-2011, 08:19 PM
think I might pull the trigger on this guy
http://www.intengineering.com/Integrated-Engineering-p9720030-1-2.html

hopefully this will solve my misfires/CEL/ rich issue

ZacharyWS
10-24-2011, 08:25 PM
I make 450 WHP on the stock FPR.... dont waste your money unless you're doing some serious fueling

Seerlah
10-24-2011, 08:49 PM
I make 450 WHP on the stock FPR.... dont waste your money unless you're doing some serious fueling...

...or your tune actually requires a different bar fuel pressure regulator other than stock (assuming tune is spot on).

flynnr
10-24-2011, 10:25 PM
Quit hatin guys.

I ran an adjustable fpr for my pc-16 tune and it helped a ton. Kept it on there when I went to unitronics for my old 2860 and it also helped for that application as well. I wouldn't change it much at all, but like for the pc16 I had it at 2.8bar instead of the 3 , and my car loved me. Felt much better, didn't run so damn rich. I wouldn't get one to do anything major at all with, but with an ots tune and a wideband a/f gauge, it can't hurt. You have to remember, everyone lives in different altitudes and different climates, so an ots tune only goes so far. Good luck man.

ZacharyWS
10-24-2011, 10:39 PM
...or your tune actually requires a different bar fuel pressure regulator other than stock (assuming tune is spot on).

We tune our own stuff... I assumed that if you are running any serious BT setup you arent picking up some garbage out of the box chip tune.

Seerlah
10-24-2011, 10:39 PM
I am peicing together a GT2871R kit and plan on running a CTapp OTS tune at first, which I don't consider crap. I want to switch to the ME7 Suite later on, but need to learn first. Not really a serious BT, but still a BT none the less.


Quit hatin guys.

I ran an adjustable fpr for my pc-16 tune and it helped a ton. Kept it on there when I went to unitronics for my old 2860 and it also helped for that application as well. I wouldn't change it much at all, but like for the pc16 I had it at 2.8bar instead of the 3 , and my car loved me. Felt much better, didn't run so damn rich. I wouldn't get one to do anything major at all with, but with an ots tune and a wideband a/f gauge, it can't hurt. You have to remember, everyone lives in different altitudes and different climates, so an ots tune only goes so far. Good luck man.

What AFPR were you using, if you were able to dial to 2.8bar? ECS?

Shhmaudi
10-24-2011, 11:46 PM
Flynn, How many bars did your run on your old 2860 uni tune? were you running 440cc?

This is what my setup looks like now
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l240/socal_a4/2011-10-24_19-46-13_22.jpg

flynnr
10-25-2011, 06:11 AM
Mine was purchased through evoms.com - it is not on their site, but it is where i got mine through. it went right in the stock location.

here are some pics.


http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/162FPR_1.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/162IMG_0060.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/162IMG_0059.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/162IMG_0058.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/162IMG_0057.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/162IMG_0056.JPG

flynnr
10-25-2011, 06:12 AM
Be sure to adjust it with the vac line disconnected

Seerlah
10-25-2011, 10:06 AM
Pardon the noon question, but how do you dial the fpr correctly?

flynnr
10-25-2011, 11:45 AM
look at the fp gauge - its just below 40psi correct?

3 bar ~ 43 psi

2.7 bar ~ 39 psi (where it ran best at)

i adjusted the fpr by first removing the vac line closest to the fpr (while the car was running) and then adjusting it to where it shold be psi wise, and then hooking the vac line back up. easy as that!

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii155/flynnr1/CIMG0918.jpg

Seerlah
10-25-2011, 12:14 PM
I remember coming across a different way of doing it. With the pump priming the system (ignition off, but in starting posiition), and the fpr line to manifold line disconnected, you are supposed to dial it to a certain pressure/bar depending on what bar it is supposed to be ran at. Then you turn her over with line intact, and the fuel pressure should be at what it is supposed to be set at. I guess this way won't fuber the engine while cranking or turned over.

Shhmaudi
10-25-2011, 12:36 PM
Great info Flynnr Thank you again

How much was the evoms FPR shipped? The IE one I am looking at looks like its going to be 69 shipped.. Not too bad

Avant Nate
10-25-2011, 01:30 PM
So if you run a tune that calls for 3.5 bar, then the psi should be set at 50-51? I have an 034 afpr, but have n't installed it yet.the integrated engineering one seems like a better deal.

flynnr
10-25-2011, 01:47 PM
yep.

Shhmaudi
10-25-2011, 02:30 PM
yep. Were you running 440cc UNI program? How many bars did that tune require?

flynnr
10-25-2011, 06:32 PM
i cant remember... there is a 4 bar and a 3 bar tune, just start at what you tune calls for, and adjust it if you feel confident. i would highly recommend using a a/f gauge, and logging to see how it runs

Avant Nate
10-25-2011, 07:41 PM
pretty sure its 3 bar, unless they did something different in the past. The 415 tune runs at 3.5 which equals 440

Shhmaudi
10-25-2011, 11:04 PM
Anyone know what an acceptable number the A/f ratio is during idle and also during WOT? Can I use vag com to read this value? If yes, what block should I use?

TIA

nam3
10-26-2011, 09:07 AM
hopefully this will solve my misfires/CEL/ rich issue


I fixed my misfire / rich issue with the ICM delete mod. The AF ratio, its 14.7 idle and 12.5 for WOT for your setup. Some tune WOT at 12.7- 13.2. From your sig, im guessing you got a 98, so you won't be able to get AF ratio with the narrow band o2 sensor.

flynnr
10-26-2011, 09:25 AM
I am 12.0 at WOT - i think 13 might be running lean?

nam3
10-26-2011, 09:40 AM
I am 12.0 at WOT - i think 13 might be running lean?

Your right, 13 is lean, not for newer lean burn cars. My bad, but 12's are sweet spot for b5's.

Crispy222
10-26-2011, 10:00 AM
I'd get the IE one if you are running the stock rail. Easiest install (10mins tops) with the control you'll need.

I'm running a Fuelab AFPR attached right on the end of an ATP billet rail. Gauge on the rail to see the actual rail pressure. Jegs fittings and EFI fuel line. AN-look hose clamps on the stock hard lines against the rain tray.
http://www.maperformance.com/fuelab-adjustbale-fuel-pressure-regulator.html
http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h146/Crispy222/IMG_20110704_234204.jpg

http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h146/Crispy222/IMG_20110704_234220.jpg

Shhmaudi
10-29-2011, 08:04 PM
look at the fp gauge - its just below 40psi correct?

3 bar ~ 43 psi

2.7 bar ~ 39 psi (where it ran best at)

i adjusted the fpr by first removing the vac line closest to the fpr (while the car was running) and then adjusting it to where it shold be psi wise, and then hooking the vac line back up. easy as that!

]

Looking at my gauge I am at 52psi??? I just installed my afpr and I am dialed at 50 now maybe 49.7 and it still hesitates under quick revs of the throttle.. But its running better.

You were at 43psi and turned it down from there? so you were running 3 bar tune and my tune is a 3.5 bar? Hmm. Might drop it another 1 psi and see if the throttle is a little more crisp

Shhmaudi
10-29-2011, 08:06 PM
I fixed my misfire / rich issue with the ICM delete mod. The AF ratio, its 14.7 idle and 12.5 for WOT for your setup. Some tune WOT at 12.7- 13.2. From your sig, im guessing you got a 98, so you won't be able to get AF ratio with the narrow band o2 sensor.

did you take a harness off of newer a4, and used the newer coil packs?

Crispy222
10-30-2011, 05:25 AM
did you take a harness off of newer a4, and used the newer coil packs?

My plan:
INA v1.3 spacers, Anodized black $90
Audi B7 A4 Quattro 2.0T Coils, Part# 07K998715F $80 (ECS)
Coil Pack Wiring Harness Replacement Part# 1J0971658L $50 (ECS, ES#7679)

nam3
11-01-2011, 08:27 AM
did you take a harness off of newer a4, and used the newer coil packs?
I bought a new harness from the dealer and the 2.0t gti coils from ECS. NGK iridium extreme gapped to .040, no more misfires in high boost and no black smoke or rich smell.