PDA

View Full Version : Can k04 run on stock b5?



B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 11:33 AM
Sup guys...i have a 2001 audi a4 1.8t 5 speec quattro, i have done quite some research but still am unsure about this k04 turbo running on my stock b5. I would like to know what kind of trouble i might be running into or will it work sucessfully? My k03 wastegate is finishec so i figure let me just buy k04 because its 100 dollars more than a new k03 on ecstuning, i have a bent valve also so i need to send my head to the machine shop. Im not rich but i havr no problem with investin into my car...my plan is to get my head resurfaced new valves ect and slap a k04 on my stock car until i can buy fmic, tip, exhaust, cai , and giac hammerhead, i am not looking for any power gains at the moment i just want my boost back and buying a wastegate assembly is hard to come by and hard to remove without f***kin anything up so is there any1 who know's from experience if its safe to run the k04 on a stock set up for a few months?

Hugh@EuropaParts
10-20-2011, 11:39 AM
Do this and call it a day... Stock K03 from BorgWarner. Check the price, free shipping too!

Turbocharger (1.8T, K03) (http://www.europaparts.com/turbocharger-058145703j-borgwarner.html)
http://media.europaparts.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image/170x/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/0/5/058145703j.jpg (http://www.europaparts.com/turbocharger-058145703j-borgwarner.html)
OEM replacement K03 turbocharger for 1.8T cars with ATW, AUG, AWM, and AMB engine codes. It features stock size and flow. Manufactured by BorgWarner.

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 11:49 AM
I think he would rather get the k04 so he wont need to get a k04 later, you should be fine, the car may not run great, but once you get the proper tune, you will be fine.

Seerlah
10-20-2011, 11:49 AM
Is it your actuator? Or the actual wasegate? I have an extra wastegate actuator I can sell you for cheap (like $20+shipping) if that is your only issue.

B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 11:55 AM
U say the it wont run great how would it run, would it run like a stock k03 or close to it? What kind of feel would i get, also im not sure about the wastegate i disconnected the hose hooked up a boost gauge and didnt get any boost what so ever i also put a new dv last week and made no difference


I think he would rather get the k04 so he wont need to get a k04 later, you should be fine, the car may not run great, but once you get the proper tune, you will be fine.

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 11:57 AM
Read this.
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/220629-stock-a4-k04

B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 11:59 AM
Also im a lil confused do i get the k04 or k04-015 for 2001 audi a4 1.8 quattro 5 speed

Seerlah
10-20-2011, 12:01 PM
You sure your boost gauge is hooked up correctly? An upgrade is always a plus, but I would investigate and spend money on fixing the issue correctly. And if you want to upgrade to a k04-15, look into a Frankenturbo. It requires the same supporting mods (meaning same money spent on supporting mods) and can easily grant 50more hp to the crank than the k04 will. People run that turbo on the k04 file, waiting for tuners to release files for the Frankenturbo (Unitronics).

B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 12:01 PM
Ok thnx turbwhistle i appreciate it :-)

B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 12:04 PM
Well im gonna buy new oil n coolant lines also , i have a new dv alrdy i figure problem should be solved only codes i have it sai pump, misfire cylinder 1 due to bent valve

B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 12:12 PM
P0300 random mis, p0301 cyl 1 misfire .... P1556 turbo boost sensor control limit not reached...p0411 sai incorrect flow

Misfire is due to bent valves , i also have to rewire coilpack wires. Sai i duct taped the plastic hose temporarily. Now the boost code i have no boost leaks i disconnected wastegate hose didnt recieve and boost at all i even pushed it wot thats how bad there wasnt any boost whatso ever ..replaced worn out hoses and dv

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 12:20 PM
You sure your boost gauge is hooked up correctly? An upgrade is always a plus, but I would investigate and spend money on fixing the issue correctly. And if you want to upgrade to a k04-15, look into a Frankenturbo. It requires the same supporting mods (meaning same money spent on supporting mods) and can easily grant 50more hp to the crank than the k04 will. People run that turbo on the k04 file, waiting for tuners to release files for the Frankenturbo (Unitronics).
A full frankenturbo kit can be had for 1300.
http://www.frankenturbo.com/new/F4L.html

-:vw:-
10-20-2011, 12:20 PM
Sup guys...i have a 2001 audi a4 1.8t 5 speec quattro, i have done quite some research but still am unsure about this k04 turbo running on my stock b5. I would like to know what kind of trouble i might be running into or will it work sucessfully? My k03 wastegate is finishec so i figure let me just buy k04 because its 100 dollars more than a new k03 on ecstuning, i have a bent valve also so i need to send my head to the machine shop. Im not rich but i havr no problem with investin into my car...my plan is to get my head resurfaced new valves ect and slap a k04 on my stock car until i can buy fmic, tip, exhaust, cai , and giac hammerhead, i am not looking for any power gains at the moment i just want my boost back and buying a wastegate assembly is hard to come by and hard to remove without f***kin anything up so is there any1 who know's from experience if its safe to run the k04 on a stock set up for a few months?

A k04 wil run fine on the stock tune however you wont be getting the full benefit of that turbo. I'm doing it right now actually, I even have an FMIC... and a test pipe.

B5RiceEater
10-20-2011, 01:59 PM
A k04 wil run fine on the stock tune however you wont be getting the full benefit of that turbo. I'm doing it right now actually, I even have an FMIC... and a test pipe.

Yea i dont mind not getting the full benefit i cant buy everything i want right away ya know so imma start off with the ko4 1st then buy all the other stuff...im a mechanic anyway :-)

bmarshall
10-20-2011, 02:25 PM
A k04 wil run fine on the stock tune however you wont be getting the full benefit of that turbo. I'm doing it right now actually, I even have an FMIC... and a test pipe.

Second that. The k04 doesnt flow much more air than the k03 for the same boost level, the problem is when you start maxing out the maf or injectors. I run a k03-073 on a tune for k03-005, The power difference was noticeable but not day and night difference.

hazard860
10-20-2011, 04:24 PM
if you got the cash i'd go with the frankenturbo F4, it'll run fine since your maf will sense how much airflow in coming. then get a tune and go all out, i recently had a sticking wastegate actuator, just sprayed some liquid wrench into it and runs mint! can't use use wd-40 tho or anything oil based.

turbo kraut
10-20-2011, 06:10 PM
k04 will only net you 25hp more than a k03.... if i was going smaller turbo than an elim i would go frankenturbo.....


the only real things you need for a turbo upgrade are tune and whatever the tuner says you have to have, ie(injectors, fuel pressure regulator) things you want are upgraded ic either fmic or smic, and clutch would be good

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 06:32 PM
I have a some what unrelated question, would a franken turbo exhaust manifold work with say a gt271r?

Seerlah
10-20-2011, 06:37 PM
Eliminator, yes.
Full frame, no.

turbo kraut
10-20-2011, 06:39 PM
I have a some what unrelated question, would a franken turbo exhaust manifold work with say a gt271r?
are you talking about an eliminator 2871 or a full bodied 2871?

if you are talking about an elim, the answer should be yes cause they both use the kkk body, if your talking full bodied the answer should be no

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 07:10 PM
I am just asking in general, its just because, if i went with the franken turbo this summer, i may want something larger in the future, and just a turbo would not be bad.

Seerlah
10-20-2011, 07:24 PM
Turbo Setups 101: turbo/manifiold flange

You need to be sure flanges match up. But there are exceptions, such as running a regular T3 turbo with a twin scroll T3 manifold. But it would not be advisable to run it the other way around, due to having the divider on the exhaust housing flange of a twin scroll causing unwanted turbulance.

When it comes to our vehicle (1.8t), the most common flanges used for larger turbochargers is either the T3 or T25 flange. When you do research on turbochargers, you will see these 2 flanges constantly appear as your options to choose for your configuration. Our stock flange is something of a rarity, and I believe Porsche is the only other car company that has the same flange on some of their turbo systems (other than VW). With the stock flange, it is more of a circular flange vs the more rectangular flange that is the T25/T3. Basically, just make sure the flange on the exhaust manifold matches that on the exhaust housing of the turbocharger.

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 07:48 PM
Thanks seerlah, i looked on the frankenturbo site, but it didn't say what flange the turbo, or the exhaust manifold come in. I could have searched, but i was being lazy. Thanks again. Is the franken turbo flange, the same as stock?

Seerlah
10-20-2011, 07:50 PM
Yes. So is the eliminators and k04.

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 07:51 PM
So, that leads me to my next question, why does the kit come with a new exhaust manifold, is it because of the coating, or is it better flowing?

jaychen
10-20-2011, 08:03 PM
Better flowing I would assume.

Seerlah
10-20-2011, 08:04 PM
The runners are larger, which in turn grants a higher flow rate. Hence the name, "High Flow Exhaust Manifold". Having it ceramic coated only helps with keeping the heat inside of the exhaust system (manifold and exhaust housing). In turn, making your turbo spool faster while also keeping the heat down in the engine bay. It's a win win situation when it comes to ceramic coating.

Turbwhistle
10-20-2011, 08:07 PM
Thanks for that. I was confused because, if its the same flange, how could more air move through it. I got it now, thanks.

Jmacc
10-20-2011, 09:52 PM
I am running a frankenturbo on a stock tune and it works fine.

IndianDrives
10-20-2011, 11:06 PM
I think he would rather get the k04 so he will not need to get a k04 later, you should be good, the car may not run wonderful, but once you get the appropriate melody, you will be good.

B5RiceEater
10-21-2011, 04:05 AM
So a frankenturbo can run on the stock setup also? Does it come with software? If not which software runs properly on this setup .. Because i see the ko4 kkk is 1000 bucks i see the franken turbo is about 300 dollars more and it seems u get more of a bang for your buck my only problem is can it run on a stock setup because i cant afford any other upgrades at the moment but will upgrade the TIP and tb hose..this franken turbo is kind of sounding like my kind of thing haha..oh yea the coolant line and oil lines match up also i admit im new to this turbo thing so im trying to gather as much info possible

Turbwhistle
10-21-2011, 05:42 AM
Yes, franken turbo cam also run on stock tune, they dont really have a tune for it yet. Most people just run a k04 tune.

ECS Tuning-Audi
10-21-2011, 09:27 AM
Ko4's are fine to run on stock tuning. But as others have said supporting mods and the correct tune will extract the most out of it.

Jason

nate09
10-21-2011, 05:29 PM
Been running mine on a stock tune for almost 10k without issue. Only went with it b/c the K03 was burning oil and the k04 came free with the car and I don't have any plans to too mod crazy.

mysman
01-27-2012, 11:57 AM
At a minimum you need a boost gauge to monitor boost levels. If you get a mis-adjusted waste gate, or your N75 valve is not perfect, you could end up with spikes and over-boosting. You'll want to insure you're keeping levels below, say, 10psi, otherwise you'll run lean. You may want to install a MBC, and also to run a VAG-COM on duty cycles, etc...