PDA

View Full Version : switching from internal to external???

justin21
04-17-2005, 06:51 PM
k i got a 99 A4 1.8T as far as i know its a stock K03 turbo what would i neet to switch it to a internal wastegate to an external wastegate? is it possible? and no i dont plan on keeping the stock turbo for much longer just till the end of the year. [a4]

k0mpresd
04-17-2005, 06:54 PM
you cant run an external wastegate w/ the stock turbo, not to mention, theres no need to

if youre not sure about the difference between an internal and external wastegate and how they work, then you need to do a little more research before you start thinking about upgrading the turbo

justin21
04-17-2005, 06:59 PM
i mean im no expert but i know a little my friend who runs a shop suggested i get an external wastegate since a bov makes it run rich while upshifting and downshifting. i just want it to be loud like my old gsx with the rfl bov is all.

TomRitt18944
04-17-2005, 07:01 PM
ahahah you got a lot of research to do

k0mpresd
04-17-2005, 07:09 PM
Originally posted by TomRitt18944
ahahah you got a lot of research to do

take it easy on the n00b...hes still learning...lol..[:D]

remember..loud does not mean fast and everything has to work together...

justin21
04-17-2005, 07:12 PM
yeah i know im learning do u mind? im just use to the 4G63 and SR20DEt u know the japanese imports and stuff. i never even heard of a diverter valve before a month ago to be honest. his shop never works on vws or audis just domestics and stuff like that. anyways thanks for ur patience and such.

k0mpresd
04-17-2005, 07:15 PM
no problem, dont take me giving you a hard time serious @ all, its all in fun

keep the ?'s coming, thats the only way you learn...

think of a dv as a bov that diverts the air back into the intake instead of venting it to the atmosphere...they do the same thing, releasing extra boost pressure when shifting and @ part throttle lifts

justin21
04-17-2005, 07:20 PM