PDA

View Full Version : Bittersweet day for my b5- new borla system but..

hellohappiness
10-15-2011, 10:06 AM
I think this is my first post in this forum, but overall I'm very new to the audi community. my 1.8tqm has had a stock exhaust system that was broken at the flex pipe for the past few weeks. I finally got around to ordering the borla catback exhaust system and installed it this morning. while my exhaust was broken it suffered extreme loss of power (expected) and began stuttering while trying to accelerate in higher gears and in lower rpms or going up steeper hills. this was a bummer but I figured it was all attributed to the broken exhaust. I slapped on the new one and while it's definitely much faster and much more powerful, the stutter is still there. (stutter may be a bad adjective) it's kind of like a really long turbo lag... not sure. but it definitely means I've got engine problems whether it's a blown turbo I'm not sure.. I'll do some more research and soul searching once I rest from the hard work for.. not exactly the results I was hoping.
the borla is nice! much quieter than expected.. but I know it will open up a bit after some more driving.

TConklin821
10-15-2011, 10:09 AM
The "stuttering" you describe. Happens in high rpms, like it won't spin any faster? If so, then you're probably running lean. I had the same issue when I had a bad exhaust leak. I cleared the "engine too lean" code, and it was fine. Strange.

seanj130
10-15-2011, 10:25 AM
The "stuttering" you describe. Happens in high rpms, like it won't spin any faster? If so, then you're probably running lean. I had the same issue when I had a bad exhaust leak. I cleared the "engine too lean" code, and it was fine. Strange.

Could be spark plugs.. Or a slipping clutch.

biketsai
10-15-2011, 10:31 AM
I wonder if you have a clogged cat

ricekikr
10-15-2011, 10:34 AM
I had the same issue when I had a bad exhaust leak. I cleared the "engine too lean" code, and it was fine. Strange.