View Full Version : Real K03s? (pics within)

10-10-2011, 08:41 AM
My wastegate arm is now floating on the exhaust port and wont properly seal anymore. Tried adjusting the wastegate nuts to keep the arm tight but made no difference. So im looking for a replacement K03 turbo.
While on Craigslist, found this turbo for sale. He said he's "like new" and has only 5k on it. See the pics, does this look like the real deal:




He's selling this about half the cost of a genuine Borg Warner turbo, just want to make sure im not buying a fake.


10-10-2011, 08:46 AM
Are those numbers etched into the tag? I believe it's legit right down to the green paint on the tip of the shaft.


10-10-2011, 08:51 AM
That looks legit to me.

10-10-2011, 09:02 AM
Thanks guys! I will contact the seller.

10-10-2011, 09:20 AM
Here is my stock K03-029 from my 2001 A4:


That looks like a slightly newer version of mine so from my limited experience it looks legit.

10-10-2011, 12:04 PM
They've changed the logo on the outlet three times now that I know of. The newest ones have the logo that the OP has on his.

10-10-2011, 12:15 PM
OP give me the sellers number and I will find out for you ;)

Damn I need me some KO3s...

10-10-2011, 01:22 PM
OP give me the sellers number and I will find out for you ;)

Damn I need me some KO3s...

No, you should buy these: http://frankenturbo.com/new/F4BT.html [:D]

10-10-2011, 01:35 PM
Lol yeah I wish... Then I would have to replace my TC in my tranny and bunch of other parts... My bike is for sale and as soon as someone pais me $2200 I might consider going frankenT or KO4

10-11-2011, 07:07 AM
Turbocharger (1.8T, K03) (http://www.europaparts.com/turbocharger-058145703j-borgwarner.html)
OEM replacement K03 turbocharger for 1.8T cars with ATW, AUG, AWM, and AMB engine codes
http://media.europaparts.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/cd6085ca2ccd08373d4b6de971808fb4/0/5/058145703j.jpg (http://www.europaparts.com/turbocharger-058145703j-borgwarner.html)