PDA

View Full Version : How to tell if ecu is flashed.



EuroSwag
10-07-2011, 05:56 PM
I bought a unitronic BT 440cc tune from someone for my 99 1.8t they said it had the tune on it I believe him for the most part but I want to make sure i dont have all the parts for a bt setup yet so i cant try it out is there anyway how i can tell ?

Seerlah
10-08-2011, 08:47 AM
If you bought it from a forum member, maybe one of us can vouch for him?

SS92
10-08-2011, 09:29 AM
Should show up in Vag-Com, no? Mine does.

nam3
10-08-2011, 04:25 PM
Open it up, check for a chip with crappy solder marks.

nunya
10-08-2011, 04:43 PM
Open it up, check for a chip with crappy solder marks.

You can bench flash ME5's so you wont always have solder joints.

coolgraymemo
10-08-2011, 04:48 PM
Should show up in Vag-Com, no? Mine does.

Mine doesn't.

nam3
10-08-2011, 05:15 PM
You can bench flash ME5's so you wont always have solder joints.
aren't 99's AEB ME3s?

nunya
10-08-2011, 05:26 PM
aren't 99's AEB ME3s?

Motronic ME3.8.2/ME5.9 - commonly referred to as ME5. ME7 are the DBW, ME5's are DBC/nDBW.

--dillon

EErie B6
10-08-2011, 06:30 PM
Boost gauge?

Crispy222
10-08-2011, 07:05 PM
My Unitronic BT chip is covered in Black epoxy from them. I heard it is so someone can't steal the program off the chip cuz its easy to do for programmers.

arcticfox04
10-08-2011, 09:10 PM
My Unitronic BT chip is covered in Black epoxy from them. I heard it is so someone can't steal the program off the chip cuz its easy to do for programmers.

Mine was the same.

gmx
10-09-2011, 01:03 AM
mine wasn't.

Hmm that's why it probably kept popping out stalling the car.
They fix their future issues but not the ones that report it. Typical Unitronic. Unitrash.

SS92
10-09-2011, 06:15 AM
My Unitronic BT chip is covered in Black epoxy from them. I heard it is so someone can't steal the program off the chip cuz its easy to do for programmers.

Black epoxy can be removed without damaging the chip, just ask the folks that hacked the eeprom on the revisioned xbox 360's sammy drives... I did it myself too. Not terribly difficult, just time consuming.

EuroSwag
10-09-2011, 07:13 PM
I took the cover off, it doesn't have anything unusual like something was soldered. I bought it from $teady$upreme.

$teady$upreme
10-10-2011, 02:17 AM
Take a pic and show them and show them the truth~

THere is definitely a chip inside.

EuroSwag
10-10-2011, 09:29 AM
I'll take another look and post some pictures.
I'm not saying i don't believe you I would just like to know 100%
Especially if i would like to re sell it down the road.

EuroSwag
10-10-2011, 08:08 PM
Pics of the ECU

http://i1177.photobucket.com/albums/x351/EuroSwaga4/ECUBACKSIDE2.jpg


http://i1177.photobucket.com/albums/x351/EuroSwaga4/ECUFRONTSIDE.jpg



http://i1177.photobucket.com/albums/x351/EuroSwaga4/ECUBACKSIDE.jpg

EuroSwag
10-10-2011, 08:09 PM
Sorry for the size of the pics my phone is gay =[

EuroSwag
10-11-2011, 08:41 AM
bump

nunya
10-11-2011, 08:43 AM
Its got a chip. OEM ECU's are not socketed like that.

--dillon

EuroSwag
10-11-2011, 08:51 AM
Good to know! It looks like it was untouched that is why asked. They must do a pretty good job, thanks a lot.

EuroSwag
10-11-2011, 05:31 PM
Just curious, what are you looking at that told you it wasn't stock? Just for future reference.

nam3
10-11-2011, 07:44 PM
For 557 ecu's, your either looking for a chip like the one you got sticking out at the backside (pic 1), or something in the empty square space beside it.

EuroSwag
10-11-2011, 08:02 PM
For 557 ecu's, your either looking for a chip like the one you got sticking out at the backside (pic 1), or something in the empty square space beside it.

OH, alright Thanks a lot I appreciate it.