PDA

View Full Version : Battery Relocated in Trunk

anmagro
05-28-2011, 12:31 PM
Does anyone have a write up of how to do this? I have only seen it mentioned a few times, never acutally seen or read about it being done. Picks? [confused]

- Ant

oldskoolaudi
05-28-2011, 01:34 PM
Does anyone have a write up of how to do this? I have only seen it mentioned a few times, never acutally seen or read about it being done. Picks? [confused]

- Ant
I have the same exact car as you and I could never find one. I relocated it to the trunk and it was cake and I'm no mechanic. As long as you do a good jog in splicing your positive together with new longer new positive all it is is tucking some wire and fastening the box down(jus be sure not to drill through your gas tank) Just once you relocate it, don't freak out if your car runs like crap for an hour or two. I guess it takes a while for the comp to get use to a slightly weaker voltage or something like that.

anmagro
05-28-2011, 02:06 PM
I guess it takes a while for the comp to get use to a slightly weaker voltage or something like that.

Does this hurt the performance of the car?

dowsett6
05-28-2011, 02:20 PM
Does this hurt the performance of the car?

maybe if you ran 8awg or something. if moving your battery to your trunk you should be using atleast 4awg. I ran 0awg from the alternator to a 3 in 1 connector where the battery used to sit. the stock fuse panel wire to the 2nd hole in the 3 in 1 connector, and the last hole was 0awg all the way back to the battery.

FNK
05-28-2011, 02:30 PM
Don't forget to place two pole (+ -) in your current battery location in case you need to be boosted.
Just saying as you need battery to run the central locking pump and that my rear lock is fubar.

In that case It would be a PITA to get access to my battery!

anmagro
05-28-2011, 02:31 PM