PDA

View Full Version : Does you're oil temperature gauge needle move or not?



Audiss17
03-21-2011, 10:13 PM
i dont know it might be a stupid question but i think that the temperature reader is bad, that needle does never ever move, i mean the oil must to be hotter than 150F, let me know how could i fix this, thanks!

J Ozzie
03-21-2011, 10:20 PM
Using that button called Search will fix ur problem just fine!


Hint: Coolant temp Sensor!

revbjeff
03-21-2011, 10:21 PM
Mine doesn't. Must be broken?

Audiss17
03-21-2011, 10:25 PM
Using that button called Search will fix ur problem just fine!


Hint: Coolant temp Sensor!

i am lazy and i like when you or someone like you responds! thanks!

coolgraymemo
03-21-2011, 10:59 PM
Does your coolant warm up to the half point?

Audi_A4_
03-22-2011, 05:49 AM
mine dont hardly ever but neither does my coolant temp. but I have coming this morning a thermostat and a bunch of other goodies and a new temp sensor and it will all be good as new

Audiss17
03-22-2011, 06:36 AM
Does your coolant warm up to the half point?
yes that does

J Ozzie
03-22-2011, 11:31 AM
yeah just replace the T stat n the sensor.. Cheap!

somebody5788
03-22-2011, 11:59 AM
How exactly is your COOLANT temperature sensor going to change your OIL temperature readings?

Most Audi's have a temp sensor either threaded in the oil pump housing or built into the oil level sensor.

For AEB

http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-Quattro-1.8T/Search/Oil_Temperature/ES4833/

For ATW and ATQ I believe

http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-Quattro-1.8T/Search/Oil_Level_Sensor/ES2380/

Same part number as the S4 which I know for a fact has the temperature sensor built into it. At least after 00. The 2000 has the little 1 wire one in the pump like my 99.5 2.8

Amorphic
03-22-2011, 04:15 PM
I had the issue where my coolant temp wouldnt go to temperature and the oil temp gauge wouldnt move at all. I changed the thermostat and it fixed both. I also did the CTS as well. Seems they go hand in hand.

somebody5788
03-22-2011, 04:21 PM
I had the issue where my coolant temp wouldnt go to temperature and the oil temp gauge wouldnt move at all. I changed the thermostat and it fixed both. I also did the CTS as well. Seems they go hand in hand.

If you replaced your thermostat and it fixed it that is because the thermostat was not letting the engine warm up enough. It has nothing to do with the sensors. That was all to do with the car not actually getting to temp.

Audiss17
03-22-2011, 07:05 PM
How exactly is your COOLANT temperature sensor going to change your OIL temperature readings?

Most Audi's have a temp sensor either threaded in the oil pump housing or built into the oil level sensor.

For AEB

http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-Quattro-1.8T/Search/Oil_Temperature/ES4833/

For ATW and ATQ I believe

http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-Quattro-1.8T/Search/Oil_Level_Sensor/ES2380/

Same part number as the S4 which I know for a fact has the temperature sensor built into it. At least after 00. The 2000 has the little 1 wire one in the pump like my 99.5 2.8

so if i get this> http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-...Sensor/ES2380/ < for sure it will fix my problem? VAG com did not say a thing

somebody5788
03-22-2011, 07:19 PM
Double check what the oil temp reads in vagcom. Also see what your coolant temp is at to verify you are hitting normal operating temperature.

Audiss17
03-22-2011, 07:24 PM
just first i have to figure out how to... just started using it...

somebody5788
03-22-2011, 07:27 PM
just first i have to figure out how to... just started using it...

Ya. Sorry IDK which blocks are the oil temp

Haenszel20v
03-22-2011, 07:29 PM
How exactly is your COOLANT temperature sensor going to change your OIL temperature readings?


the 1-wire is an oil pressure sensor. The "oil temp" is based off of the coolant temp sensor, not an actual reading. The sensor in the oil pan is not a temp sensor, you can unplug that and the oil temp will still read on the cluster.

somebody5788
03-22-2011, 07:34 PM
the 1-wire is an oil pressure sensor. The "oil temp" is based off of the coolant temp sensor, not an actual reading. The sensor in the oil pan is not a temp sensor, you can unplug that and the oil temp will still read on the cluster.

Theres another 1 wire one on the AEB man. Look at the link up there. Also the one in the link says oil temp sender. They typically use the word sender when it refers to controlled the gauge reading.