PDA

View Full Version : Navigation question

ispyder
03-20-2011, 12:39 AM
Hoping someone here might have some info on this. We're in the market for an A6 for the wife and looked at a nice one today (2008) that had everything... except the Navigation. Turns out this was one was an early model year and even though it has the technology package it doesn't have the NAV. It does have the color MMI and there is a button for NAV but it says it's not installed when pressed. So what I'm wondering is how hard is it to install the Navigation and where can I find the parts to price it out? Searching I did was inconclusive. Is it just as simple as getting the DVD unit and hooking it up in the trunk? Are there wires that need to be run to the head unit and the antennae?

Any help is appreciated. Still kind of surprised the person that ordered this car loaded it up and left out the NAV.

Thanks!

pkancel
03-20-2011, 01:51 PM
I am new to the A6 itself, but based on other Audis I have had, likely everything is pre-wired for the Nav, you probably just need the control unit/DVD and should be plug and play. I know that doesnt anwser the question but it helps get you a little closer. My advice to get the straight story, ask a service advisor at your closest dealer or better yet, if you can get straight to a technician, explain what you did here and ask if its as simple as finding the unit and then plug/play. Tech will give you the straight stuff.

Finding a used unit might be a challenge but finding one at wholesale, online should be pretty easy. Dealer obviously will charge an arm and leg but at least ask them for the price of the unit so you can compare worst case.

305Supercharged
03-20-2011, 05:48 PM
Yeah, it could be as pkancel said, check if there is a navi DVD inserted in because to be honest I have never heard of an A6 (05+) that doesn't have navigation as a standard.

ispyder
03-20-2011, 06:10 PM