PDA

View Full Version : No heat again



fbdohc
02-09-2011, 06:46 PM
My rad got fucked 2 days ago, my fan broke by receiving some ice/snow into it, break into pieces and smashed my rad.
ANyway 520$ later ... i dont have any heat again
My temp is up to the middle on the gauge .
My 2 hoses that goes trough the firewall are hot so , logically , my heater core isnt clogged RIGHT ?
The thing is, my mechanic told me that my coolant mix was too pure , like if i didnt make the mix right, he says something like -45 celsius degrees
Could it be the reason why i dont get any heat ?
Kind of fuc*in really pissed about the heat in this car.
Im about to rip my dash apart and change that mofo heater core.
Thanks for help guys

fbdohc
02-09-2011, 07:29 PM
and also, how to read with the vag com if the temperature motor flap is working properly ???

weaselciuy
02-10-2011, 04:03 AM
check the HVAC for any error codes on channel 0. Look on AudiWorld for Uncovering the secrets within the climate control unit.

fbdohc
02-10-2011, 07:24 AM
You mean that with the radio unit i can seen if theres any error ? Or i really need the vagcom ?

ECS Tuning-Audi
02-10-2011, 12:57 PM
You'll need VAGCOM to read the errors - if it isn't your temperature motor flap, it may be as simple as air in your cooling system. You may need to bleed it as such (http://forums.audiworld.com/showpost.php?p=1635231&postcount=18).

protocol_droid
02-10-2011, 03:28 PM
If it is the heatercore, I did this: http://www.audiworld.com/tech/eng.html find the heater core article.

10' of 3/4" tubing cut in half. Ran a twist nozzle from the hose into the tubing and flushed out the core in each direction 3-4X each. Lot's of crap came out and had heat once the engine temps came to.

fbdohc
02-10-2011, 04:51 PM
got heat again....
i did a correct bleeding with the nipple thing

fbdohc
02-11-2011, 04:30 AM
Wow yesterday it was working, now it dont and i have 600 km to do today! Fml!
By removing the outlet hose of the heater core, i realise that there were no prestone coming out, but if i put the hose on the edge of the outlet piping like if i were bleeding it, i press the gas pedal, and rev, and as the rpm go down, the outlet start squirting.. And right after that i have a bit of hot air but not for too long

discontained
02-11-2011, 11:26 AM
Wow yesterday it was working, now it dont and i have 600 km to do today! Fml!
By removing the outlet hose of the heater core, i realise that there were no prestone coming out, but if i put the hose on the edge of the outlet piping like if i were bleeding it, i press the gas pedal, and rev, and as the rpm go down, the outlet start squirting.. And right after that i have a bit of hot air but not for too long


[o_o] uh ohs

fbdohc
02-11-2011, 12:18 PM
What? What uh oh...

fbdohc
02-11-2011, 01:33 PM
Where is located the flap that controls the Temperature??

discontained
02-11-2011, 02:07 PM
I heard bad stories about folks using prestone instead of G12 coolant.. thats why I said uh ohs :D

fbdohc
02-11-2011, 04:05 PM
prestone.... g12 the same for me. its only g12 im using but its also considered as prestone ...

anyone for the flap ???

fbdohc
02-12-2011, 05:11 PM
Anyway thank you all for
The info, find all i needed on google...
My heat is back after putting high pressure water and high pressure air .

fbdohc
02-16-2011, 04:21 PM
Whats the difference between the oem heater core and that one http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-Quattro-1.8T/Search/Heater_Core/ES1942/ ? The difference between those 2 is big so if anyone has any experience related to the febi one, please comment
THanks