PDA

View Full Version : Take the valve cover and TB covers or just change sensors?



blkd_outA401
01-23-2011, 08:01 PM
Here are the codes that I just ran today
VCDS Version: Release 10.6.3 (x64)
Data version: 20101206

Sunday,23,January,2011,18:44:10:51442

Chassis Type: 8D - Audi A4 B5
Scan: 01 02 03 08 15 16 17 25 35 37 45 55 56 57 67 75 76 77

************************************************** ****************************-
Address 01: Engine Labels: 058-906-018-ATW.lbl
Part No: 4B0 906 018 M
Component: 1.8L R4/5VT G 0003
Coding: 16201
Shop #: WSC 00066
VCID: 2B5EF7C7F383

4 Faults Found:
16804 - Catalyst System; Bank 1: Efficiency Below Threshold
P0420 - 35-00 - -
17748 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28): Incor. Correlation
P1340 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
16684 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0300 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
16686 - Cylinder 2: Misfire Detected
P0302 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
Readiness: 0000 0000

I have recently done TB kit about 1k ago. Water pump included.
I know my cat is toast. Have replaced both sensors
I know mostly what the misfire on 2 is. Replaced plugs Coil packs(Hitachi). Also spliced in a new plug on 2. Bought harness from 034 have not done that yet.
The cam shaft is what worries me. I have had cam codes before after the TB job. Here is the link for other thread I posted http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/406165-P0011-code-help.
So my question would be, should i just take everything off and check the timing or just do the sensors?
One more thing, the (What i think is the cam sensor) sensor on the front of the motor where the timing cover is, is super loose, i can jiggle the connector and the whole thing moves. Could this be part of the problem?
Thanks in advance.

walky_talky20
01-23-2011, 10:19 PM
If the cam sensor is loose, that could possibly cause your timing codes. I'd check the belt timing first. It isn't hard, just remove the top t-belt cover and check the marks at TDC. And see what's up with that cam sensor. Whether the bolts are loose or what. Note that loose bolts on the cam sensor is bad news. If 1 of them works itself all the way out it can fall into the belt path, jump the belt, and bend all the valves. Something minor like that can turn into a major problem.

blkd_outA401
01-23-2011, 10:31 PM
If the cam sensor is loose, that could possibly cause your timing codes. I'd check the belt timing first. It isn't hard, just remove the top t-belt cover and check the marks at TDC. And see what's up with that cam sensor. Whether the bolts are loose or what. Note that loose bolts on the cam sensor is bad news. If 1 of them works itself all the way out it can fall into the belt path, jump the belt, and bend all the valves. Something minor like that can turn into a major problem.

That is what I was thinking. So what would be the best way to see if its TDC? Should they be just lined up as I open the cover? Should I just crank it till the do? I really think it its the sensor its pretty loose feeling. I will do that and get back.
Thanks walky.

walky_talky20
01-24-2011, 01:59 PM
There is a TDC mark on the crank pulley and lower timing cover. If it's a 5-speed, just put it in 5th gear and roll the car forward until the crank mark lines up. Then see if your Cam mark lines up as well. Probably take the upper cover off first so you make sure you're actually coming up to TDC on the cam before you take your time lining it up perfectly at the crank, only to find you are 1 revolution off and need to do another rotation.

Ottawa S4
01-24-2011, 03:41 PM
It sounds like your timing is off. You really need to check the timing with a proper timing tool like this. If you are just eyeballing it,, you will be off. It is easy enough to ensure that the crank is at TDC using the timing mark on the pulley or a crank lock too (better way) but checking the cam timing with any accuracy demands the tool.

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a94/jethro911/S4%20Motor/DSC_0394.jpg

blkd_outA401
01-26-2011, 07:37 AM
Alright so I am in utter aw still because I cannot believe that my dad got my timing off by like three teeth on the crank!!!! That pisses me off so bad. He is always talking S*** to me about doing things right and taking my time and he does this!!! I am gonna kick his ass. So that is where I am now. Would the timing being off cause these other codes that I have gotten? Also, I really think that cam sensor is bad. I can unplug it and take the male end of the plug and wiggle it around alot, it moves in every direction at least 1/4 inch. Should this be replaced as well?

blkd_outA401
01-27-2011, 08:47 PM
So mostly back together.......for some reason that was way hard to get the timing set. I did it on my other b4 and it was not that hard.
Even had my father in law help and he agreed. The cam sensor seems to fine, it is just the plastic housing that wiggles. Will clear the codes and see what happens.