PDA

View Full Version : 99 audi A4 v6 Quattro. Cruise Control ISSUE and CD changer



pcguywilson
01-19-2011, 06:56 PM
So to start this off I just bought this car and have had only two main issues.

I cannot get the CC(cruise control) to work and I cannot get the dash to recognize the CD changer is hooked up.

In regard to the CC, I have read over the last few days about possible issues so I did the first thing mentioned, I checked the fuse and guess what..There was none.

"Just replace it and that will fix it" I wish. I tried to replace it and the fuse wouldnt stay in. So I pulled the bottom dash off and pulled out the fuse box to see why the fuse wouldnt stay, In the Slot where the owners manual say the CC is located there was no wires going into. It's Slot 11 by the way, I am completely dumbfounded about what to do, My blinker Arm had CC on.off.resume and set but it doesn't work I need some HELP...PLEASE email me here or at pcguywilson@gmail.com

My second problem is that whenever I switch the mode button on the dash "CD" never appears, I know that it is getting power because It will eject the cartridge and I can hear it moving CDs when i push in the cartridge..ANY ADVICE WILL HELP

stan23
01-19-2011, 07:20 PM
Sorry, can't help, but I can say that I have both problems ** so welcome to the club!

T0mat3
01-19-2011, 08:17 PM
Cruise control is a common problem. The cause is usually the stalk. No idea about the Cd changer though. Good luck.

pcguywilson
01-20-2011, 11:00 AM
Mine doesnt and the metal prongs are missing..im gnna try an "inline" fuse if i can locate the correct wires. I will be posting pics soon..maybe tommorow afternoon

pcguywilson
01-20-2011, 01:57 PM
I am quoting AudiMike from AUDIWORLD.com

He gave this bit of info and I will be testing it out soon.


here's a test to check for a connection.

CD Changer Detection:

The following is the procedure on how to check if the radio detects an externally mounted CD changer.

1. Turn off radio.
2. While pressing and holding the MODE button, turn on radio.
3. The display shows CONNECT if a CD changer is connected. Otherwise it shows NO CDC. This is a display-only mode. You cannot change any settings.
4. When you are done, turn off radio, then turn it back on for normal operation

If no changer is present:

The coding for the radio is adjusted if a changer is hooked up (VAG.com), so check that first. I would grab some radio keys and remove the radio to see if the changer wires are connected at the head unit. The fact that you can eject the CD just means you have 12 volts at the changer, not that the control signals are present.



Previous owner may have had something like an ipod or MP3 interface connected and removed it prior to the sale.

pcguywilson
01-20-2011, 02:53 PM
I checked and it is saying "NO CDC"
I need to determine what I am exactly looking for now. Should I start in the Trunk or in the Front?

Pics would be great

windows2000bug
03-23-2011, 07:20 AM
They have a lot of places where it says fuse, but there is suppose to be none. We ran into the same issue with CC and CD Player. We got our CD Player working with a CD Cleaner, but it was recognizing the CD's before we put the cleaner in, it just wasn't playing it giving some error. We to are having issues with the CC, we are going to look into a suggestion about taking the CC module out and re soldering a red cap. If that doesn't work we might try the stalk, but I would rather not get into Airbag stuff.

d3m0nz3y3
03-23-2011, 08:31 AM
I have both the problems and here is what i did. For my CC it seems to be an intermittent issue. For some wierd reason my CC wont engage sometimes and to make it work i have to slow down my car so it is below 60mph and then engage cruise control. It engages and then works at whatever speed, i know its wierd but thats how i get along with that issue. As for the CD changer i tried alot of things but never got that thing to work. I will do the test you stated and see what it says.

Avant Nate
03-23-2011, 09:39 AM
For the CC, check out this thread
http://forums.audiworld.com/showthread.php?p=23825079#post23825079

My cruise works 90% of the time, so I haven't tried this yet.

d3m0nz3y3
03-23-2011, 01:28 PM
Interesting, i am gonna try that(once weather gets a little warmer here) Avant Nate and see if it fixes the issue. Does anyone know if the blinker relay is some where here also? For some reason my left/right blinkers dont turn on/off, looks like the relays just get stuck and it stays on... Problem doesnt happen all the time though.