PDA

View Full Version : Bad DV???? Maybe TIP???? Total newb here!!!!

blkd_outA401
01-17-2011, 08:15 PM
Here is the deal,
the other day I was driving with the window down and I hit boost, I heard the spool, and then when I shifted I head a Psssht. I thought to myself I have not heard it do that before. After searching and searching, I thought it might be a bad DV. I just bought this car a month ago and have replaced almost every main maintence item i could think of. Timing belt, idler, water pump, new oil, filter, drop in K&N, ect...... So thought it might be the DV. Was at the parts store today, come out and i am leaking coolant. In the processes of fixing that I noticed that my TIP was not seated all the way on the turbo. When I did the TB i was having a hard time getting it to stay on. It is a Neuspeed silicone TIP.

So my question is.......could this be the cause of my car sounding like it has a BOV?
To top it off I dont know if I have been losing boost. Since I have gotten the car it has peaked at like 17-18psi, leveled to 15psi according to the boost gauge in the car. I also noticed that if i take it to almost redline, my boost drops to 10psi. Does this mean that i am not holding boost? I am guessing it has a flash tune. Everything seems stock on the car. I am in need of help on this one. I dont know turbo systems very well and I am pretty much lost. I need help fast.[headbang][headbang]

SR-71
01-18-2011, 08:46 AM
No, that means your K03 can't hold boost at high RPM because it's little.

buck
01-18-2011, 09:14 AM
Peaking @ 18psi & leveling to 15 sounds like you're chipped/flashed. If it's the stock KO3(s), then the boost is going to taper off well before redline. It's just a baby turbo and is not going to boost efficiently at high revs.