PDA

View Full Version : Radiator question..



Turbo Nerd
01-12-2011, 09:22 AM
Ok I just bought a radiator from a company my shop deals with (Silla). They told me that it shows the same radiator for both auto and stick (I have a 5spd) and I know there is a difference in both. The auto one has the lines going to the rad for cooling and the standard transmission doesn't. So here's what they sent me.

http://i498.photobucket.com/albums/rr350/sWaDeGFX/09ee4f1a.jpg

http://i498.photobucket.com/albums/rr350/sWaDeGFX/bf653263.jpg

http://i498.photobucket.com/albums/rr350/sWaDeGFX/a343773b.jpg

My question is will this work or should I return it? Obviously I have nothing to hook up to those line for the autotragic, will these leak coolant or am I straight?

Thanks in advance fellas.

A4F3V3R
01-12-2011, 09:39 AM
if the dimensions are the same i guess you could just plug the holes where the cooler lines go.

NeedingAnAudi
01-12-2011, 09:42 AM
I bought a radiator and it looks exactly the same as that. Those plugs on the other side will not leak. They have one design and open certain connections according to tranny.

Turbo Nerd
01-12-2011, 09:52 AM
Ok good, the only thing that goes there is tranny fluid on the automatics right? It has nothing to do with coolant, this is what I was thinking but I had to make sure 100% before I install it. The price was great $85 and they delivered it.

NeedingAnAudi
01-12-2011, 10:25 AM
If your worried cap the bottom hole off and fill it with water

Turbo Nerd
01-12-2011, 11:04 AM
Yea if I want it to freeze and crack then I'll fill it with water.

NeedingAnAudi
01-12-2011, 11:19 AM
Whaa?? You only fill it for a minute, then empty it and install it.

Turbo Nerd
01-12-2011, 11:35 AM
I see what your saying now lolll at first I'm like is this guy serious haha.

MikeD7
01-12-2011, 11:44 AM
I would return it and run the correct rad. No use in having another nig-rig on you car (B5 guys out there, don't tell me there are no rigs on your car. That would be a lie) lol

somebody5788
01-12-2011, 12:05 PM
Make it an oil cooler!

NeedingAnAudi
01-12-2011, 12:27 PM
I see what your saying now lolll at first I'm like is this guy serious haha.

[:D]

Turbo Nerd
01-12-2011, 01:33 PM
Make it an oil cooler!

Or a oil catch can lolll.

Turbo Nerd
01-12-2011, 01:36 PM
I would return it and run the correct rad. No use in having another nig-rig on you car (B5 guys out there, don't tell me there are no rigs on your car. That would be a lie) lol

Yea but that would mean they would take 20% of my money for handling fee and I could use as you would call "another nig-rig" on my car.... On a serious note, PM me a info and a price on the front BBK.

walky_talky20
01-12-2011, 05:15 PM
Yep, that is a separate part of the rad for the trans cooler. It can be used without issue and you don't even need to cap those lines. Using it as an oil cooler is certainly an option. On my 5-speed swap I will be disconnecting those lines and leaving it as-is. Technically you are sacrificing a *small* amount of cooling ability as the part of the radiator is not being used. But is no more disadvantage than the Auto car would have from the factory.

These rads are available aftermarket in the manual-only variety, they are just harder to find sometimes. Parts places like to stock the 1 size fits both variety.

My brother recently replaced his rad on his 1.8T manual car. He had to wait an extra day for the parts suppier to get him the manual-only rad. He got this one (not from ECS, but same unit):
http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B5_A4-Quattro-1.8T/Engine/Cooling/Radiators/ES1306567/

brettj20
01-12-2011, 05:21 PM
^ x2 wont hurt it.

onemoremile
01-13-2011, 01:06 PM
No reason not to just use it. As a plus, you can use the trans cooler portion for oil or power steering cooling.

Turbo Nerd
01-13-2011, 01:36 PM
Thanks for the answers and the help, I will probably use it for something since it's there.

adam.wilber
01-13-2011, 05:39 PM
have the same one... works like a wonder considering how much i beat on my motor lol