PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust setup for 1.8t

Clewe
01-01-2011, 03:10 PM
I tried looking up diagrams for the stock exhaust on an 01 1.8t but I can't seem to find any links work, does anybody have a valid link for a diagram for the stock exhaust on a 1.8t b5, even just if somebody could explain the individual piping and parts that come after the cat. Reason being I'm planning on straight piping my car but I don't want to do it all the way from the cat back and I need to know where everything else on my exhaust is and what it's called so I can determine where I want to start the straight pipe. As you can see I'm pretty new to this so please bare with me, I still have a lot to learn..

And I'm planning on going with 2.75" piping, does that sound about right?

b6nukka
01-01-2011, 03:13 PM
This might help http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/404303-Exhaust-101.-VERY-LONG

Clewe
01-01-2011, 03:35 PM
Yeah that does help and I can kind of follow along on what he's saying, but I don't even know what is all on an exhaust and what parts are where, and what they are called. So before I even look into that, I kind of need a diagram or even some explanation on where everything sits on an exhaust and what the parts are called starting from the cat and going back. Otherwise I can't really follow along with these write ups because I don't even know the names of the piping and where they are. Sorry for any inconvenience I feel like kind of a tool coming on here and wasting your guys times with something that is so simple to you guys, but I'm trying to learn and this seems like the best way to do it, anyways thanks again in advanced.

seanj130
01-01-2011, 04:00 PM
If i recall from when i straight-piped my car.. The Exhaust i believe is 2.25, 2.75 should be good on your car. Straight-piping your car is very loud and you will be getting tickets monthly.

Best regards,
Sean.

hercfe
01-01-2011, 04:20 PM