PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Seal Question



audisnapr
12-30-2010, 11:11 AM
Quick question - there is a seal on the input shaft of the transmission. If that seal is/was replaced, would the transmission fluid also have to be replaced? Meaning, does that seal hold in the transmission fluid?

This is in regards to my transmission debacle with the dealer. I remember the tech telling me that he wanted to replace the seal, and I see 'a' seal listed on my invoice (N-903-542-01), but I don't see anything about replacing the transmission fluid.

Just curious. Wonder if the f^ckers forgot to replace the fluid.

audisnapr
01-03-2011, 02:12 PM
bump

walky_talky20
01-03-2011, 02:42 PM
If you make sure the front of the tranny is tilted up a bit, you won't lose any gear oil when changing the input shaft seal. Actually, as long as it is level, it is probably fine. I'm sure if they lost any, they would have topped it off, but they probably didn't lose a drop.

audisnapr
01-04-2011, 07:17 AM
gotcha - makes sense. Thanks for the reply.