PDA

View Full Version : Inspection FAIL- Monitors "not set"?



biketsai
12-02-2010, 02:23 PM
So I just got m inspection done, and I failed with flying colors. I thought I would pass with this new TAPP tune that took out my codes and such but many of my monitors were "not set". Another thing to add to the mix, my CEL bulb is out, so I can tell if its on. During the test it said
MIL:
Engine On: PASS
Engine Off: PASS
So either this can be a manual input by the inspector or maybe I dont have a CEL and the computer was able to tell that part.
Here is where things start to confuse me/fail. I HAVE NOT reset my codes etc in a while so its not like I drove in with the ECU not adapted.

Monitors:
Misfire: N/S (not set)
Fuel Sys: N/S
Comp Cmpnt: Ready
Catalyst: Ready
Heated Cat: N/S
Evap: N/S
2nd Sys: N/S
Air cond: N/S
02 Sens: N/S
02 sens Htr: Ready
EGR sys: N/S
DLC: Ready

I currently run the TAPP 630cc MAFLESS tune, had them code out my 2nd air pump and CAT.
So what is going on here?

Chris

revolution337
12-02-2010, 03:29 PM
Have you disconnected the battery recently? I'm not sure how your ECU works now with the new tune, but on a normal ECU whenever you disconnect the battery the computer has to re-run the self-tests for all the different emissions monitors. The monitors will say "not set" until that self-test has either passed or failed, which it will indicate once the test is complete. I think if you go into the OBD section of vagcom, there is process of like 21 steps that you can run to "force start" these self-tests in order to complete them and have them "set". Hope this help. Someone else can chime in if im wrong.

edit: not sure on texas laws, but in PA 2000 and older can have 2 monitors "not set" and still pass, and 2001 and up can have 1 monitor "not set" and still pass

biketsai
12-02-2010, 03:38 PM
I haven't disconnected the battery. How do I force readiness.

revolution337
12-02-2010, 03:47 PM
1)SELECT CONTROL MODULE
2)01-ENGINE
3)BASIC FUNCTIONS - READINESS -15
4)SET READINESS (in bottom left corner)
5)Follow the steps given in the test to (hopefully) set all monitors

Good luck

bandit
12-02-2010, 03:49 PM
and/or drive your car.

jettaglx91
12-02-2010, 04:00 PM
this is kinda weird as Eurodyne/tapp usually forces all readiness

stack
12-02-2010, 04:03 PM
you need to go threw some drive cycles to run your monitors.
should be on google.
i got mine printed but its in my toolbox.

i will post it up tomrow if you want it

biketsai
12-02-2010, 04:06 PM
you need to go threw some drive cycles to run your monitors.
should be on google.
i got mine printed but its in my toolbox.

i will post it up tomrow if you want it

Please do!
I havent unplugged or cleared my codes in a WHILE. But I drive my car like once or twice a week, but I drove about 300 miles the past week, I don't see why it was still like that?

stack
12-02-2010, 04:11 PM
running the monitors, they have specfic driving speeds and RPM ranges and temp. for them to run.


ok you got it
tomrw. i will post up the steps

biketsai
12-02-2010, 04:11 PM
running the monitors, they have specfic driving speeds and RPM ranges and temp. for them to run.


ok you got it
tomrw. i will post up the steps

Thanks,
I just dont see why they never were ready? Especially since I have driven my car about 400 miles (highway) in the past week. That is whats really stumping me

revolution337
12-02-2010, 04:24 PM
you got vagcom? try the method i posted.

biketsai
12-02-2010, 04:29 PM
I will this weekend.

Nebone
12-02-2010, 04:39 PM
If they code out 2ndary O2 or Air Injection, readyness will display as not passed as it is inactive. Perhaps that can be forced to pass.

revolution337
12-02-2010, 04:41 PM
I will this weekend.

sounds good. and even though you drove 300+ miles in the last week, some of the monitors require very precise/exact driving conditions to be met in order to set. im not sure about audi, but i know some ford drive cycles are crazy stuff like "accelerate up to 55 mph at part throttle, cruise for 3 minutes, coast down to 35 mph WITHOUT using the brakes, cruise for 3 minutes, accelerate back up to 55 mph, blah blah blah" and so on.

the hardest part about setting these drive cycles even with the test steps is finding a open road to do them on.

biketsai
12-02-2010, 04:46 PM
sounds good. and even though you drove 300+ miles in the last week, some of the monitors require very precise/exact driving conditions to be met in order to set. im not sure about audi, but i know some ford drive cycles are crazy stuff like "accelerate up to 55 mph at part throttle, cruise for 3 minutes, coast down to 35 mph WITHOUT using the brakes, cruise for 3 minutes, accelerate back up to 55 mph, blah blah blah" and so on.

the hardest part about setting these drive cycles even with the test steps is finding a open road to do them on.

I managed to find that driving guide, shits crazy! Never thought it took that much to get things ready. Do the monitors go back to "not set" after a period of not driving?

revolution337
12-02-2010, 04:57 PM
I managed to find that driving guide, shits crazy! Never thought it took that much to get things ready. Do the monitors go back to "not set" after a period of not driving?

No. The only way the monitors can be "not set" is if the ecu memory is deleted (ex. battery disconnected). It can, however, change from pass to fail or vice versa.

jettaglx91
12-02-2010, 05:46 PM
how old is your tapp software? all of the new(like last couple years) should force readiness

biketsai
12-02-2010, 08:29 PM
a few months old. (July?)

biketsai
12-03-2010, 01:44 PM
Gong to VAG it tomorrow, other than whats listed above, anything else to look for?

Also, after I set things to readiness, how long will it stay like that?

Chris

revolution337
12-04-2010, 06:19 AM
Gong to VAG it tomorrow, other than whats listed above, anything else to look for?

Also, after I set things to readiness, how long will it stay like that?

Chris

Nothing else that I can think of. And once they are set they should stay set.

biketsai
12-04-2010, 02:10 PM
Went through with the test, successfully!! Thanks a lot!

One thing though, previously my 02 sensor heater was ready, but now that is the ONLY thing that I couldnt get to set right. Think its b/c I cleared the codes and just need to drive?
Chris

revolution337
12-04-2010, 02:20 PM
Glad to hear it worked out for you [up]

And I'm not sure why the O2 heater didn't set. I guess driving it for a while and checking it again wouldn't hurt.

biketsai
12-05-2010, 10:44 PM
Quick question about readiness and taking the inspection test.
I know usually whenever you clear codes on other cars, and you go straight over to the inspection place, it wont work because nothing is adapted and ready.
Is this the case with my car since I have recently deleted the codes, then did the readiness procedure on vagcom? Currently, those listed above are "ready" so am I good to go with my inspection?

Chris

revolution337
12-06-2010, 03:31 AM
Quick question about readiness and taking the inspection test.
I know usually whenever you clear codes on other cars, and you go straight over to the inspection place, it wont work because nothing is adapted and ready.
Is this the case with my car since I have recently deleted the codes, then did the readiness procedure on vagcom? Currently, those listed above are "ready" so am I good to go with my inspection?

Chris

Yes, you should be good to go. The reason other cars fail right after they clear the codes is because the car doesn't have time to set the monitors. In our case, we have vagcom to force set the readiness so its all good.

stack
12-07-2010, 05:55 AM
sorry for the delay.

but for anyone else

Readiness Monitors and Drive Cycles

"Readiness Monitors" are indicators that demonstrate whether or not emission system components are being monitored (checked) by the OBDII system. If a monitor is set to "Ready" the monitor is checking its assigned component and, if no DTC's are present, the vehicle should pass an emissions test.

NOTE: If the appropriate number of Readiness Monitors (codes) are not flagged as "Ready", in most cases, the vehicle can not pass an emissions test. See State and Federal Laws.

The status of all readiness monitors is reset to "Not Ready" :
Each time DTC's are cleared
The battery is disconnected
The ECM is disconnected

The status of all readiness monitors is reset to "Ready" :
After DTC's are cleared and the appropriate drive cycle(s) is successfully completed

EPA Federal Test Procedure





Manufactures are required to validate monitors during the first 23 minutes (1372 seconds) of the Federal Test Procedure Drive Cycle.

EPA Urban Dynamometer Driving Schedule






Completing the Drive Cycle successfully one (1) time should reset most drive cycle monitors to a "Ready" status. However, there are "two trip" monitors, which require that the drive cycle be successfully completed two (2) times, to achieve a "Ready" status. Furthermore, systems which use averaging, may require the drive cycle to be completed more than 2 times.

Verify the status of the readiness monitors with the appropriate function of your scan tool.

NOTE: Certain vehicles have known OBDII Readiness issues. Please be sure to review TSB's for special circumstances and or exceptions to readiness monitor resetting procedures.

Before Beginning the Drive Cycle
Check the status of the Readiness Monitors, check for DTC's, correct faults, clear DTC's before beginning the Drive Cycle.

Begin Drive Cycle
The vehicle should be driven approximately 7.5 miles within a period of approx. 23 minutes (1372 seconds) from a cold start. However, due to manufacture variations, it is necessary to perform only as much of the Drive Cycle as is necessary to reset the required monitors to a "Ready" status. Operate the throttle smoothly to obtain best results. Do not turn the ignition off during the drive cycle.

CAUTION: Obey all traffic laws and drive in a safe manner!

NOTE: Extreme driving conditioning such as very high/low temperatures, rough roads and high altitudes may prevent some monitors from attaining a "Ready" status.



Step 1 (Engine Cold) Start engine, idle 20 seconds. Accelerate gradually and drive at 20-25 mph for 1 minute, varying speed.
Step 2 Accelerate gradually to 32 mph within 35 seconds. Decelerate to 0 mph in 10 seconds. Idle for 40 seconds.
Step 3 Accelerate at part throttle to 25 mph in 10 seconds. Cruise at 17-25 mph for 15 seconds. Accelerate gradually to 57 mph in 45 seconds. Cruise at 50-56 mph for 1 minute. Decelerate gradually to 0 mph in 40 seconds. Idle for 15 seconds.
Step 4 Accelerate at part throttle to 36 mph and maintain for 10 seconds. Decelerate to 0 mph in 15 seconds. Idle for 5 seconds.
Step 5 Accelerate to 30 mph and back to 0 mph within 30 seconds. Idle for 20 seconds.
Step 6 Accelerate to 36 mph in 20 seconds. Drive at 35 mph for 20 seconds. Decelerate to 0 mph in 15 seconds. Idle 5 seconds.
Step 7 Accelerate gradually to 26 mph and decelerate to 0 within 40 seconds. Idle 15 seconds.
Step 8 Accelerate to 27 mph in 40 seconds. Decelerate to 0 mph in 10 seconds. Idle 25 seconds.
Step 9 Accelerate to 26 mph in 15 seconds, maintain speed for 10 seconds, decelerate to 0 mph in 10 seconds. Idle 15 seconds.
Step 10 Accelerate to 23 mph in 20 seconds, decelerate to 0.5 mph in 10 seconds (no complete stop). Accelerate to 28 mph and back to 0 mph (momentary stop 1 second) within 35 seconds.
Step 11 Accelerate gradually to 34 mph in 45 seconds. Vary speed between 34 and 19 mph for 2 minutes. Decelerate from 25 to 0 mph in 25 seconds. Idle for 5 seconds.
Step 12 Accelerate to 29 mph in 15 seconds, decelerate gradually to 0 mph in 45 seconds. Idle for 30 seconds.
Step 13 Accelerate gradually to 28 mph and back to 0 mph (momentary stop 1 second) within 50 seconds. Accelerate gradually to 27 mph and back to 0 mph within 55 seconds. Idle for 15 seconds.
Step 14 Accelerate to 24 mph and back to 0 mph within 18 seconds. Idle for 10 seconds. Accelerate gradually to 22 mph and back to 0 mph within 50 seconds. Idle for 8 seconds.
Step 15 Accelerate gradually to 30 mph within 50 seconds. Decelerate to 0 mph in 10 seconds. Idle for 25 seconds.
Step 16 Accelerate to 23 mph and back to 0 mph within 30 seconds. Idle for 10 seconds.
Step 17 Repeat steps 1 - 16 once again. Recheck the status of the "Readiness Monitors".

NOTE: Remember, clearing DTC's or interrupting power to the ECM after the readiness monitors have been reset to "Ready" will require that the Drive Cycle be repeated.

Completing the Drive Cycle successfully one (1) time should reset most drive cycle monitors to a "Ready" status. However, there are "two trip" monitors, which require that the drive cycle be successfully completed two (2) times, to achieve a "Ready" status. Furthermore, systems which use averaging, may require the drive cycle to be completed more than 2 times. It is necessary to perform only as much of the Drive Cycle as is necessary to reset the required monitors to a "Ready" status.

End Drive Cycle

somebody5788
12-07-2010, 06:01 AM
Went through with the test, successfully!! Thanks a lot!

One thing though, previously my 02 sensor heater was ready, but now that is the ONLY thing that I couldnt get to set right. Think its b/c I cleared the codes and just need to drive?
Chris

I think these things might have a poorly designed ground for the heater circuit. I have codes for both primary o2 heaters but they are both good. I actually even pass with them in the readiness test... I need to try to run a redundant ground on them but I think that's all it needs.

J Ozzie
12-07-2010, 08:28 AM
this is kinda weird as Eurodyne/tapp usually forces all readiness

Thats what i need! This for real? I have Aircare comming up soon in 2011 FUCK BC AIRCARE!!

somebody5788
12-07-2010, 02:11 PM
Will hopefully have something to post about in here by tonight =D

Chris@RevoUSA
12-09-2010, 10:15 AM
Readiness Monitors and Drive Cycles

"overly complicated method removed"



VW/Audis procedures using VCDS or even using the built in steps if your ecu has it setup in VCDS is much much simpler then that. I've set readiness thousands of times and never had to do that drive around method. It works if you have no means like VCDS or factory tools but if you have access use the factory methods.

Most cars can be done in under 10 minutes without ever leaving your driveway, no dealing with traffic or other conditions. VCDS even does it smart with some of the non temperature sensitive tests early on so that you can run them while getting the car up to temp.

Chris@RevoUSA
12-09-2010, 10:24 AM
Thats what i need! This for real? I have Aircare comming up soon in 2011 FUCK BC AIRCARE!!

Several tuners just force all readiness tests to pass so if you have remove emissions equipment you can still pass, others don't.

Reasons vary for both, opinions vary for both as well.

In the long run removing or bypassing emissions equipment and forcing tests to pass won't work. Several US states have moved to a system that can now determine if tests are forced to pass and you fail, sometimes with fines on top of failing since there really is no excuse you can come up with for forcing readiness tests to pass. No cat? sure your cat clogged you were broke you needed a quick fix maybe a passable excuse. You gutted evap and SAI then paid for software that intentionally forces tests to pass? Doesn't go over to well. I suggest sticking to private inspection stations in states that are doing this or rolling it out soon, still won't pass but less chance of getting fined.

As far as I have heard this new system has not come to anywhere in Canada so you should be safe. NY NJ are full on state wide right now with this new system, NJ not all private is setup yet though. Other northeast states will be adopting it soon and many states who currently have no emissions testing but are looking to add it will be jumping right to this new system. I haven't heard of it coming to cali anytime soon, with their fairly strict visual inspection I think it isn't worth the system upgrading since they would just see you were missing it all anyway.

turbo_bootin
04-21-2011, 12:53 AM
Several tuners just force all readiness tests to pass so if you have remove emissions equipment you can still pass, others don't.

Reasons vary for both, opinions vary for both as well.

In the long run removing or bypassing emissions equipment and forcing tests to pass won't work. Several US states have moved to a system that can now determine if tests are forced to pass and you fail, sometimes with fines on top of failing since there really is no excuse you can come up with for forcing readiness tests to pass. No cat? sure your cat clogged you were broke you needed a quick fix maybe a passable excuse. You gutted evap and SAI then paid for software that intentionally forces tests to pass? Doesn't go over to well. I suggest sticking to private inspection stations in states that are doing this or rolling it out soon, still won't pass but less chance of getting fined.

As far as I have heard this new system has not come to anywhere in Canada so you should be safe. NY NJ are full on state wide right now with this new system, NJ not all private is setup yet though. Other northeast states will be adopting it soon and many states who currently have no emissions testing but are looking to add it will be jumping right to this new system. I haven't heard of it coming to cali anytime soon, with their fairly strict visual inspection I think it isn't worth the system upgrading since they would just see you were missing it all anyway.

Sorry to dredge up this old thread, but has anyone ever heard of/have proof of this? This doesn't seem likely.

Can anyone with Eurodyne or k0mpressd's set readiness in NY or NJ chime in?

turbo_bootin
04-22-2011, 05:03 PM
Anyone?

biketsai
04-22-2011, 10:03 PM
I finally passed the inspection. All I had to do was, go into VAGCOM and do a readiness test. It just sets the readiness/tests for all of the monitors.

J Ozzie
04-23-2011, 12:29 AM
I finally passed the inspection. All I had to do was, go into VAGCOM and do a readiness test. It just sets the readiness/tests for all of the monitors.

good to know!