PDA

View Full Version : k03/k03s



AudiNFS
11-03-2010, 03:28 PM
As a few of you may know, i'm planning on chipping my car very soon with new spark plugs and a forge 007 dv. Well, my car is making loud whirring/ whining sounds in the higher RPM's (from 4-6K) only when i'm at WOT. So I figure I may as well just replace the 12 year old turbo anyway seeing as that's most likely where the sounds coming from. Does anyone have a VERY ALIVE k03/k03s that would fit a 1998 A4 1.8TQM and oil lines or know where I can get a QUALITY k03/k03s for my car? Thank you everyone. [wrench]

T0mat3
11-03-2010, 03:32 PM
Pm'd You.

bigblue
11-03-2010, 04:20 PM
Lol do a ko3s if you wanna replace it with the same thing. Or do a ko4.

AudiNFS
11-03-2010, 04:36 PM
Lol do a ko3s if you wanna replace it with the same thing. Or do a ko4.

I was thinking a k04 too but I don't wanna spend all the extra money for it since I plan on going BT at some point.

turbo_bootin
11-03-2010, 05:50 PM
Then do BT now.

biketsai
11-03-2010, 06:25 PM
K03s

AudiNFS
11-03-2010, 06:49 PM
I don't have nearly enough money for even a BT turbocharger. So the verdict seems to be k03s. Does anyone have one or know where to get one? Thanks

walky_talky20
11-03-2010, 08:22 PM
Try to find a turbo off a b6 1.8T. They are even slightly better. It is called a K03-073. It is like between a K03S (k03-029) and a K04 (k04-015). They are a bit harder to find, though.

Polski
11-03-2010, 10:31 PM
Just chip it, and keep under 5k rpm, the k03-k03s runs out of breath by then anyways, and when your turbo really goes out, THEN look for one. By then you might have extra money and you can BT right away. I mean, a used healthy k03-k03s can run 200-400$, and a gt2871r goes for 800+.....If I was you, I'd milk that k03 until its dry and then analyse your financial situation.
Also make sure to chose you're chip/flash provider wisely provided you will want to go BT since ecu upgrades are free - labor.
A good move would also be to be patient, not chipping your car (extending the life of your current turbo) and save up for a BT.
Just my 0.02

wildbill
11-04-2010, 01:07 AM
Just chip it, and keep under 5k rpm, the k03-k03s runs out of breath by then anyways, and when your turbo really goes out, THEN look for one. By then you might have extra money and you can BT right away. I mean, a used healthy k03-k03s can run 200-400$, and a gt2871r goes for 800+.....If I was you, I'd milk that k03 until its dry and then analyse your financial situation.
Also make sure to chose you're chip/flash provider wisely provided you will want to go BT since ecu upgrades are free - labor.
A good move would also be to be patient, not chipping your car (extending the life of your current turbo) and save up for a BT.
Just my 0.02

take advice from this guy
im leaving my car pc 16 k04.....y
plans for a b5 s4
throwing thousands at a setup you dont plan to keep is pointless
good job polski

bigblue
11-04-2010, 06:43 AM
ko4 is about as expensive as a ko3s... so whats the point of buying another crap turbo.

wildbill
11-04-2010, 07:11 AM
its not crap...its a stronger more broad k03....i like it. its practical
next car is a different story

Doug@FrankenTurbo
11-04-2010, 07:41 AM
Try to find a turbo off a b6 1.8T. They are even slightly better. It is called a K03-073. It is like between a K03S (k03-029) and a K04 (k04-015). They are a bit harder to find, though.

The K03-073 is really hard to find in the States. It was exclusive to the 190bhp European spec vehicles. As an fyi, most Ebay "K04-15" turbos are actually K03-073 spec. [:/]

AudiNFS
11-04-2010, 06:04 PM
Thanks for your input Polski. I just don't know how much longer this turbo has left in it and I want to be prepared when/if it goes out. I also already have the chip. The other problem with getting a BT is that I only have enough money for about a k03/k03s. I was also under the impression that something was bad if you ran a k04 without supporting mods and a k04 tune. If they're the same as a k03, show me where. I'm expecting a k03 from a company to be around $300.

bigblue
11-05-2010, 08:51 AM
Um... a ko3 costs anywhere from 600-1300 depending on where you buy it. a ko4 costs 700-1400 depending where you buy it... Where are you finding a ko3 for 300? Also on the b5 you can toss the ko4 on without supporting mods or software...

Polski
11-05-2010, 10:38 AM
No problem for the input.
There is nothing wrong with running a k04 on stock k03 settings, just expect the same hp output and a further spool (slower feel).
I would stay away from a k04 setup if you have a BT in mind.(money wise, unless you find a good deal on a healthy k04 <$400)
Getting a used k03-k03s is really the way to go if you're 100% set on chipping the ecu meanwhile saving up for a BT.
Worst case, you swap it in when your current turbo blows or best case scenario your current turbo lives until you have enough for a BT and you can resell the spare k03.
What chip do you have?

AudiNFS
11-05-2010, 07:53 PM
No problem for the input.
There is nothing wrong with running a k04 on stock k03 settings, just expect the same hp output and a further spool (slower feel).
I would stay away from a k04 setup if you have a BT in mind.(money wise, unless you find a good deal on a healthy k04 <$400)
Getting a used k03-k03s is really the way to go if you're 100% set on chipping the ecu meanwhile saving up for a BT.
Worst case, you swap it in when your current turbo blows or best case scenario your current turbo lives until you have enough for a BT and you can resell the spare k03.
What chip do you have?

okay so terrible estimates on the k03. I've never actually looked for one so that was my problem.

Anyway, obviously i'm hoping for the best case scenario. I am putting in a GIAC chip and new dv and plugs tomorrow at some point.

On my current turbo, the boost gauge reads 22-23 In. Hg and I get about 6lbs. of boost and 8-9 under load. Although lately it's 7-8lbs. because of the weather conditions I'm hoping. All summer it would get 8-9lbs in 4th and 5th gear. Anyway, that's the current story. I'm also going to take your advice on staying below 5K RPM's.

Polski
11-05-2010, 09:34 PM
A used k03, with no play, runs for about ~$200 right now. (check out the classified adds on vwvortex also)
The giac chip being the cheapest and most aggressive flash/chip, it does have it's disadvantage: future turbo upgrades limit them selfs to the k04.
If your planning BT in near future, you will have to change your software provider.(unitronic or tapp are popular ones)

AudiNFS
11-06-2010, 06:04 AM
A used k03, with no play, runs for about ~$200 right now. (check out the classified adds on vwvortex also)
The giac chip being the cheapest and most aggressive flash/chip, it does have it's disadvantage: future turbo upgrades limit them selfs to the k04.
If your planning BT in near future, you will have to change your software provider.(unitronic or tapp are popular ones)

I've found k03's. I'm just waiting to see what happens to my current turbo.

As for the software... bad planning on my part. Thanks for all your help polski.

J Ozzie
11-06-2010, 06:13 AM
I've found k03's. I'm just waiting to see what happens to my current turbo.

As for the software... bad planning on my part. Thanks for all your help polski.

[headbang]

Why so the fins can break off and go into your engine? Greattttt idea man! i like your thinking..

AudiNFS
11-06-2010, 08:02 AM
[headbang]

Why so the fins can break off and go into your engine? Greattttt idea man! i like your thinking..

I've read about stuff like that happening. I need more info. on wether it will really happen or not. From what I've read, people think it will, people think it won't happen.

I'm not saying I'm gonna wait for it to blow and take a total dump, i'm going to see if it gets progressively worse with the chip.