PDA

View Full Version : Question about oil pressure gauge and oil cooler



.Mad Hatter.
10-18-2010, 05:12 PM
Ok, here is my list of compiled parts:

Podi oil pressure gauge (with sender/sensor)
Hayden oil cooler
034 sandwich plate

Now, obviously I am going to remove the stock oil cooler and in its place will go the 034 sandwich plate. I am also obviously going to need somewhere to tap into in order for the supplied sensor/sender to work with my gauge.

Here is my dilemma, I have never really looked closely at that area. Is the stock pickup for the oil pressure sensor/sender attached to the stock oil cooler, or elsewhere? The closest shot I can find is from Kyle H's thread and he mentions the "stock location" and it appears to NOT be on the stock cooler.

His shot:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs449.ash1/24737_10150162834950293_770295292_12089022_2324915 _n.jpg

So, I guess my question is:

Can I run the 3 things I listed above together without having to spend any more money, or am I missing a piece?

Thanks all

[wrench]

Kyle H
10-18-2010, 06:35 PM
That brass fitting goes into the oil filter housing part of the block (not sure what to call it). The brass fitting goes from that to a splitter which allows you to run the stock idiot light sensor with the aftermarket pressure sender.

the place you're looking for is above the stock cooler, attached to the block. Good luck [up]


edit-
http://khphotography3.smugmug.com/photos/666509253_rUqKf-O-1.jpg
the pressure sensor is straight down from the cyl4 intake port, almost pointing straight at the camera. you can see the rod that the stock oil cooler slips over and where the oil filter screws on right below it.

walky_talky20
10-18-2010, 06:38 PM
Yep. The stock location (of the oil pressure switch) is on the oil filter housing. The oil cooler is bolted up to it, but they are separate pieces.

The area is tight, though. So you may need an extension fitting/hose/setup to be able to connect it there. Of course, depending on how bulky your sender is. Do remember that the threads there are metric m10x1.0. Your sender is likely 1/8" NPT. So an adapter is usually required.

For my sender on my AWM, I used the auxiliary port on top of the oil filter housing. I needed an m10x1 to 1/8 NPT adapter and a 1/8 NPT "street" 45 degree elbow to fit it there. The sender sits there, just next to the dipstick tube. A bit hard to get at, but I like it.

.Mad Hatter.
10-18-2010, 06:38 PM
Cool, thanks for confirming that. I got a sensor from Podi so I will be using that one. Any problems with removing the stock one completely? What light would this be for, obviously not oil level?

.Mad Hatter.
10-18-2010, 06:41 PM
thanks walky_talky. I emailed Winston at Podi to try and confirm whether or not the sender that came with the kit will bolt directly to that port. It is tiny, I have to assume it will as they make stuff specifically for our cars and there were no other available accessories.

A4Rob
10-18-2010, 09:03 PM
Another option would be to go to Home Depot and get a 1/8 brass T fitting to tap the sending unit off of the factory sensor.

terraflata
10-19-2010, 02:42 PM
Rob I want to see an updated pic of your engine bay, from your avatar that thing just keeps getting more pimp!

walky_talky20
10-19-2010, 05:36 PM
Yeah, you usually use "T" for the stock sender. The 42 draft designs kit is popular as it relocates and splits into multiple ports.

http://store.42draftdesigns.com/VW-Oil-Pressure-Relocation-Kit_p_314.html

This is why I used the auxiliary port. So I didn't have to mess around with big "T" fittings and multiple adapters, or finding a place to put a glob of senders on the end of a hose (like the 42dd unit).

.Mad Hatter.
10-19-2010, 06:37 PM
ok now im confused. why couldnt i use the supplier sender from Podi in that stock location and simply run that?

walky_talky20
10-19-2010, 06:42 PM
The sender from podi is probably just a sender. It has an output that varies with oil pressure that is read by the gauge. The stock component is an oil pressure SWITCH. It open it's contacts in response to whether there is sufficient oil pressure. It happens to be about a 1 bar (14.5 psi) switch.

So the 2 items don't really do the same job. One is a sender, the other is a switch. It is necessary to keep the switch for proper factory operation of the oil pressure warnings.

.Mad Hatter.
10-19-2010, 06:54 PM
ok i see what youre saying. the 42DD kit would be a viable option, but I would prefer to do something simpler. where is this auxiliary port that you used? that would allow me to keep the stock switch in the stock location and use the auxiliary port to tap the sender into?

as for the T-fitting; the base would need to be m10x1.0 with one end being m10x1.0 and other being 1/8 NPT? something tells me my local home depot may not have that.

walky_talky20
10-19-2010, 07:20 PM
I just did a quick write-up of my sender install. I've been meaning to do it for a while.

Yeah, the T fitting is a dilemma. 1/8" NPT is *actually* pretty darn close to M10x1.0, believe it or not. So you can just get a 1/8 NPT "T" and make it work. I decided that was too janky, even if it would work. The thread meshing would keep me up at night, lol.

.Mad Hatter.
10-19-2010, 07:31 PM
so 1/8 NPT on all 3 ends should work...although i would be worried about it as well. i guess i could seal the threads but like you said it would bother me as well.

winston@podi.ca
10-19-2010, 08:56 PM
I replied to your PM but after taking a closer look at the 034 plate you need a 3/8" street t-fitting and then a 3/8"->1/8" NPT reducer so you can screw in the VEI sender

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:6wtzYUGQDZvVYM:b

winston@podi.ca
10-19-2010, 09:00 PM
I just did a quick write-up of my sender install. I've been meaning to do it for a while.

Yeah, the T fitting is a dilemma. 1/8" NPT is *actually* pretty darn close to M10x1.0, believe it or not. So you can just get a 1/8 NPT "T" and make it work. I decided that was too janky, even if it would work. The thread meshing would keep me up at night, lol.

1/8" NPT is close to M10x1.0 but if threaded in wrong you will strip the brass threads off the sender.

I know it is of no help right now but I am coming up with a complete oil sender install kit so people can hook up all of their oil temp and pressure senders, aftermarket and OEM, without any more headaches.

I hope to have them out in time for Christmas [:p]

Kyle H
10-19-2010, 10:39 PM
Winston, [up][up]


Also, your car is amazing.

.Mad Hatter.
10-20-2010, 06:41 AM
I replied to your PM but after taking a closer look at the 034 plate you need a 3/8" street t-fitting and then a 3/8"->1/8" NPT reducer so you can screw in the VEI sender

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:6wtzYUGQDZvVYM:b

after talking to Kyle and walky_talky I realized that the location I was tapping into was not attached to the stock cooler. that sandwich plate used a 3/8" fitting but that is where my oil cooler is going to be fed from and returned to. the method walky_talky used seems like a good route...plus we can then confirm that it will work on an AEB

[:)]

.Mad Hatter.
10-20-2010, 09:23 AM
i got the gauge wired, sender just needs to be hooked up:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1081/5099167891_f8b9d1c715_z.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4092/5099167555_9aef7dbf09_z.jpg
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1076/5099167295_72737875cf_z.jpg

i LOVE the stepper...now I want the stepper boost gauge to match [:)]

Kyle H
10-20-2010, 05:16 PM
160psi oil pressure gauge?!


weird.

frameshift18
10-20-2010, 06:11 PM
^x2.

walky_talky20
10-20-2010, 09:15 PM
I was doing some reading and found someone with an AEB that used the test port. They said their sender was small enough that it *just* fit without any angle adapters. It didn't say whether they used a metric adapter or not. After looking at the AEB port location again, it may be possible to use just the npt>metric adapter alone as it acts as a pretty nice extension anyway. That's the way I did it anyway. I got the metric fitting first for a test fit and found I needed some angle, so I eyeballed it an got a 45 and it worked great.

Hmm. Mad Hatter, have you looked at your oil filter housing/flange yet to see the test port location? I just got to thinking if the Audi AEB's have an open port or not. I know the ATW does, which uses the same block, but the AEB may have a oil temp sender there instead of a blank plug. I don't have one to look at. The two 1.8T's in the family are ATW and AWM. In the later engines the oil level sender did the oil temp readings instead of a dedicated sender. I thought the AEB's didn't have a level sender... Not positive here. My Bentley has almost no mention of the temp senders at all.

thenofjboy
10-21-2010, 05:17 AM
On my VW AEB, there is a spare blank port you can use that is to the side of the stock oil sender

There isnt a oil level sender either on the AEB, on the other models its on the bottom of the oil pan

.Mad Hatter.
10-21-2010, 05:30 AM
I have not had a chance to check yet, and it is raining right now :(

I will try and take a look today to see if the port is there. I also know for sure my sender is smaller than your walky_talky, so you may be right and I may only need the adapter. i will try to source both though just in case.

99blueb5
10-21-2010, 08:46 AM
why would you get a 160psi gauge?!, it will never in its life time reach over 70-psi

.Mad Hatter.
10-21-2010, 11:04 AM
if they offered a different one, i would have bought it ;)

from walky_talky's thread:

As far as oil pressure measured, they are a little higher than I expected, which is good for a 1.8T I suppose.
Cold Idle: ~80 psi
Cold 2k rpms: ~90 psi
Cold 3k rpms: ~100psi (pegs the gauge)
Hot Idle: ~24 psi
Hot 2k rpms: ~50 psi
Hot 3k rpms: ~70 psi
Hot at redline can still peg the gauge (100 psi).

winston@podi.ca
10-21-2010, 11:15 AM
if they offered a different one, i would have bought it ;)

People other than Audi owners use our gauges and need to read higher than 100psi



from walky_talky's thread:

As far as oil pressure measured, they are a little higher than I expected, which is good for a 1.8T I suppose.
Cold Idle: ~80 psi
Cold 2k rpms: ~90 psi
Cold 3k rpms: ~100psi (pegs the gauge)
Hot Idle: ~24 psi
Hot 2k rpms: ~50 psi
Hot 3k rpms: ~70 psi
Hot at redline can still peg the gauge (100 psi).

I have very similar hot/cold results and can get a reading of 100 way before redline, but I am running 10w60 oil too.

.Mad Hatter.
10-21-2010, 11:29 AM
The gauge is fine with me, not sure why other people care what the max readout is, the gauge still looks awesome!

winston@podi.ca
10-21-2010, 11:35 AM
I forgot to mention that if you really, really wanted to upgrade that boost gauge to a stepper motor unit then let me know via email.

I might be in a good mood [:D]

black99.5a4
10-21-2010, 11:41 AM
you should of been in a good mood and answered my PM i sent you about getting a VEI gauge.. but i ordered it 2 days ago anyways.

good luck with it all geoff and the gauges look good where you have them.

.Mad Hatter.
10-21-2010, 12:21 PM
I forgot to mention that if you really, really wanted to upgrade that boost gauge to a stepper motor unit then let me know via email.

I might be in a good mood [:D]

You're killin' me!

I took a look for that dummy plug and I can not see it for the life of me. I will take the expansion tank out and get a closer look when it stops raining.

As for the stock cooler, what do I do with the lines running to and from coolant hard lines? Plug the hard lines?

winston@podi.ca
10-21-2010, 12:29 PM
you should of been in a good mood and answered my PM i sent you about getting a VEI gauge.. but i ordered it 2 days ago anyways.

good luck with it all geoff and the gauges look good where you have them.

I will have to apologize if I did not reply to you. My inbox gets swamped and PMs get pushed down pretty quick.

Kyle H
10-21-2010, 01:19 PM
You're killin' me!

I took a look for that dummy plug and I can not see it for the life of me. I will take the expansion tank out and get a closer look when it stops raining.

As for the stock cooler, what do I do with the lines running to and from coolant hard lines? Plug the hard lines?

I twisted one of the tubes to just bypass the cooler and go into the block. Then that tube sprung a leak from being torqued around, so I made a new one out of hose from NAPA and a 90* elbow.

.Mad Hatter.
10-21-2010, 02:56 PM
ah ok, so just a closed loop between the 2 hard lines vs. an inlet/outlet to and from the stock cooler. that makes sense.

bmarshall
10-21-2010, 04:29 PM
I have seen this T piece fitting and line on ebay UK.
Think i might use this one.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140449913971&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

.Mad Hatter.
10-21-2010, 06:03 PM
I bought the Auto Meter adapter today from a local muscle car/truck shop. I will see how it goes with the adapter and 45* piece...I am still worried because I can't locate that plug, but I will look again for it tomorrow.

.Mad Hatter.
10-22-2010, 05:04 AM
quick question for those in the know:

the lines i have for the cooler are 3/8", is that going to be big enough?

black99.5a4
10-22-2010, 12:27 PM
Is that OD or ID Geoff? 3/8 ID will be fine, OD, not so much. That, depending upon the line you are using, will be about 1/4 of an inch ID.

.Mad Hatter.
10-22-2010, 12:49 PM
3/8" ID (hose). thats the size of the nipples on the cooler (OD)