PDA

View Full Version : Replacing Turbo



iPoke
10-14-2010, 05:56 PM
Tackling this job DIY style this weekend. Is there any great write up online? I've seen an older "K03 to K04 DIY write-up" but the pictures are small and hard to see.

Also those of you that had done this, any tricks and tips you could give me? I'll just be replacing the K03S with another K03S so it shouldn't be too hard (although I was wondering if it will be okay to replace the stock K03S with a regular K03?)

Any special tools I'm gonna need? Also what's the approximate time of the job?

Thanks in advance guys. I'd appreciate any comments and tips.

T0mat3
10-14-2010, 06:07 PM
Make sure to have a pan under the car, and empty your oil and coolant before hand, or youll have a nice puddle. Don't say no one warned you about it :P

protocol_droid
10-14-2010, 07:08 PM
http://www.a4mods.com/index.php?page=webcontent/pages/apr3.html it's a bt thread however disassembly is the same.

You cannot use a regular k03 to replace a k03s. It's probably going to take you a full day to do the swap if you haven't done it before.

Jman25
10-15-2010, 08:49 AM
Take pictures of EVERYTHING while you go trust me it will help when putting it all back together and remember to put the crush washers back on the coolant line when putting the new one on just an fyi.

SVB5
10-15-2010, 09:46 AM
I used this (http://www.audiworld.com/tech/eng27b.shtml) DIY. Once you get going the small pictures won't bother you so much. Get a gasket kit(the turbo to cat cannot be reused, should replace all anyways).
Have fun with the oil return line, that was the bigest PITA for me. I did mine(wastegate actuator replacement) start to finish in about 3.5hrs. Drain that oil and coolant first! I didn't drain the coolant my first time and made a huge mess:(
Good luck