PDA

View Full Version : Camshaft Position Sensor



DGAFxxx
10-05-2010, 07:38 PM
Yesterday I got a CEL, pulled the code:

16725/P0341 Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) Implausible Signal - Intermittent

I thought maybe my timing might be off, so I lined it up at TDC, pulled the valve cover both camshaft sprockets are spot on, and 16 teeth between on the chain. I just did a new timing belt about a month ago, got it from ECS in their kit (153 tooth belt).

So I thought maybe the sensor was going bad, it was still running good, until today, it died under about 5# of boost, and then when I tried to start it it just cranked but wouldn't start.

Could a bad CMP sensor keep a car from not starting? Wondering if there is another unknown issue.

http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss333/dgafxxx/P1020667.jpg

ScratchRob13
10-05-2010, 08:18 PM
Yesterday I got a CEL, pulled the code:

16725/P0341 Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) Implausible Signal - Intermittent

I thought maybe my timing might be off, so I lined it up at TDC, pulled the valve cover both camshaft sprockets are spot on, and 16 teeth between on the chain. I just did a new timing belt about a month ago, got it from ECS in their kit (153 tooth belt).

So I thought maybe the sensor was going bad, it was still running good, until today, it died under about 5# of boost, and then when I tried to start it it just cranked but wouldn't start.

Could a bad CMP sensor keep a car from not starting? Wondering if there is another unknown issue.

http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss333/dgafxxx/P1020667.jpg

Unplug the sensor on the front of the head (next to the timing belt cam gear)

However this sensor isn't needed to run... I would bet on the crank position sensor being fubared before the cam. My $.02