PDA

View Full Version : anyone know of a tuner that uses intel chips..?



toxinr
08-22-2010, 03:39 PM
finally decided to stop being lazy and checked my ECU while checking the ignition (was told it was chipped when i bought the car but never actually checked it..)...
i found this intel chip on it...looks familiar to anyone? or does it actually come stock this way?
Thanks[:D]
http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac28/toxinr/f3baa36a.jpg

Jc61990
08-22-2010, 03:44 PM
prob some old BIOS chip from a pc that the tuner just re wrote to.

techguy512
08-22-2010, 04:30 PM
...looks familiar to anyone?...



It's a 2Mbit flash memory chip

edited to remove redundant photo....

somebody5788
08-23-2010, 06:08 AM
You should def put a sticker on your car that says "Intel inside"

toxinr
08-23-2010, 06:35 AM
You should def put a sticker on your car that says "Intel inside"

I actually thought about that...lol

2001A4QUATTRO
08-23-2010, 10:13 AM
intel just made the chip and tbe tuner installed it and flashed it.

ZacharyWS
08-23-2010, 08:13 PM
chip is OE... Intel flash chips are very common in bosch ECU's

The trick would be to pull a read off the ECU and see what the file really is.... most ME3.8 ECU's are flashed and not "chipped" however early tuners *96,97, early 98 PN's required a flash chip to be installed as the Bosch name file was for the most part unreleased to the tuning community