PDA

View Full Version : I Has Big Tranny Problem



1.8beasT
08-11-2010, 07:10 AM
Alright guys well today I put my car back on the road after 7 months of being off </3. I first noticed all of my gear lights on the dash were lit up which I thought was strange, but anyway, I pulled out in reverse just fine and began my errands. As I'm driving, I'm noticing very delayed shifts and my car will not shift into 5th, and I have no use of tiptronics at all. Not even the 2,3,4 gears work. Does anyone have any ideas as to whats wrong? Btw its a 98' 1.8t FWD with tip of course. Thanks.

marknad113
08-11-2010, 07:33 AM
search there is a whole thread or 5 coving this exact problem

1.8beasT
08-11-2010, 07:51 AM
All of those threads turn into shit shows. I need a definitive answer. Thanks though I appreciate the help.

powersmokin
08-11-2010, 08:26 AM
what i would first do is take the shifter surround off and see if the magnet that is used to activate the tip mode is stuck to the contacts and keeping it stuck in tip mode. the magnets fall out all the time and the tip stops working so it could have just stayed stuck to the contacts.

marknad113
08-11-2010, 08:37 AM
the threads point to the TCM. check that first and go from there.

walky_talky20
08-11-2010, 09:27 AM
It could be one of several fault codes in the TCU. Check the codes, then fix the problem.

1.8beasT
08-11-2010, 09:52 PM
I don't have a vag-com to check the codes. Anyone know where I can find the TCM? I might as well swap it out and see what happens.

1.8beasT
08-12-2010, 01:34 PM
Anyone? Also known as the Multifunction transmission switch.

blacka4
08-12-2010, 02:41 PM
the TCM Is on the floor behind the carpet on the passenger side. you really need to check the codes.

1.8beasT
08-12-2010, 10:41 PM
I dont have a vag scanner. Can I buy the vcheck tool from ecs tuning? Is that the same thing kind of?

blacka4
08-13-2010, 01:45 PM
if you don't have one I am sure someone in your area will show up and scan your car for the transmission codes.

as for that vcheck thingy, I wouldn't purchase that. but I would go to ross tech (www.ross-tech.com) and purchase the vagcom. you are going to need it. it will be the best 300 dollars you spend

1.8beasT
08-18-2010, 03:38 PM
Well I got access to a legit vag-com and it couldn't even connect to the tcu to get codes. Anyone think that a wire got torn maybe before the tranny computer? OR maybe the computer is just dead?

prizmatik
08-27-2010, 07:40 PM
Hey bro, your car is stuck in Limp Mode. Disconnect your battery to clear the memory. It will clear the memory and you should be able to shift properly. Now depending on your problem, it may go back into limp mode. Update us when you do this and we can go from there.