PDA

View Full Version : Starting to look for a B5 A4 to pull long commuter duty . . .

SquiddyB6S4
08-03-2010, 08:58 AM
So I picked up my '04 S4 last December, and have been very happy with it. My girlfriend is going back to school, and she has two really good schools to choose from; one is about 100mi each way, and the other is about 200-250mi. I don't want to put an ungodly number of miles on my S4, mostly for maintenance reasons but also for value and general wear and tear. But I like the comfort, the quality feel, and the Quattro rain attitude: the "what rain?" attitude [:d]

I have taken a few looks around, and I'm seeing $5k-$7k to be the going price. I want the 4-cyl, auto, Quattro model, for fuel economy, traffic, and rain, respectively. Is there anything to avoid? Other than CVT of course [;)] I'm a good mechanic, and my best friend is a tech at the local dealership, and we'll both check the car out. I'm just looking for real tell-tales of significant work upcoming, major weak points (like knowing before buying a B6/7 S4 that the A/C compressors are a wear item and take a full day to replace!), any options to avoid like the plague, etc. I just want something I can put a LOT of miles on, and not require much maintenance. If I'm barking up the wrong tree, please let me know, but it's my understanding that the 1.8T is like the godfather of cheap and easy and care-free, at least in stock form.

Thank you all; I appreciate any help you might bestow on me.

trbosqrl
08-03-2010, 09:04 AM
A car is made to drive why are u treating ur s4 like a classic car

somebody5788
08-03-2010, 09:49 AM
A car is made to drive why are u treating ur s4 like a classic car

It matters when your car doesnt have 160k miles lol.

I'd get a B6 op. The B5 is a little high maintenance for that. And it's an Audi so it will not be care free lmao

turbo_bootin
08-03-2010, 09:52 AM