PDA

View Full Version : STOPTECH



shrimp6440
07-27-2010, 09:51 AM
Ok i have an 01 a4 avant just got stoptech brakes from a s4 i got the caliper an rotors the rotor are shot.... I want to know if the bracket that they came with can be used or if i have to get different ones etc what do i need to install them

euroazfck
07-27-2010, 09:57 AM
nice wheals

Kyle H
07-27-2010, 10:02 AM
You need to swap to S4 uprights to use them, or make a custom bracket. search the forum for everything you need to swap the uprights.

shrimp6440
07-27-2010, 10:39 AM
I dont want to swap the uprights maybe some brackets an some rotors

Seerlah
07-27-2010, 12:44 PM
Your best get would be to call Stoptech and see if they have brackets they can sell you. Mind you, it more than likely won't be cheap.

ModBargains.com
07-27-2010, 03:30 PM
You would most likely have to change the brackets to get the brakes to fit properly. Shoot me over a PM with the exact, year, make and model of your car as well as the details of the BBK such as the part numbers if you have them and I'll be more than happy to help you out!

- Alan

shrimp6440
07-28-2010, 05:05 AM
BUMP...........

belinko
07-28-2010, 08:33 AM
Machining a bracket isn't as straight forward as one would think, even though it's just a bolt pattern and a couple of holes. The rotor must be centered almost exactly between the caliper and pads, if it's not you'll be compromising the braking performance.

Stoptech does sell a kit for the B5 A4, thus they should have a caliper carrier as well. Whether or not they'll sell it to you is another question. As far as replacing the rotors, well your the unfortunate one who'll get to pay for the maintenance of the BBK. I don't want to scare you but I think the front rotors arent' cheap ($800-1000).

Swapping uprights is the cleanest way to perform the modification if you can't get the caliper carrier. I just had this done for my BBK setup. For my '01.5, I got the steel S4 uprights and new ABS sensors. Everything else was plug'n play.