PDA

View Full Version : TT MAF for AEB



RTe
07-26-2010, 05:11 AM
Dear All,
Some help needed..

We are building an AEB on K04-020. Everything is almost done, but we stuck with a problem. We have TT MAF, which should work for this software. But we could not find any pin-out diagrams to connect our ECU to this MAF. It has 5 pins, when old had only 4. Colors are different too..
Thanks in advance, any help appreciated.

Some data:
ECU: 8D0 907 557 - 0261 203 550/551
OLD MAF: 0280217112
NEW MAF: 06A906461E

gmx
07-26-2010, 05:21 AM
3" MAF Housing for the AEB Element:
-You can either buy one from 034 (the billet housing).
-Or you can try finding a MK3 VR6 housing which will also work and is what I use.

If you really want to use the TT Element, then you unfortunately need to change harness/ECU.

RTe
07-26-2010, 05:25 AM
3" MAF Housing for the AEB Element:
-You can either buy one from 034 (the billet housing).
-Or you can try finding a MK3 VR6 housing which will also work and is what I use.

If you really want to use the TT Element, then you unfortunately need to change harness/ECU.

Well, housing is already fitted..
Change harness <- any specific info on this? That would be perfect. It not, we will go for 034/VR6

Also VR6 part number would be cool to have
Thanks for your reply

Finneid90
07-26-2010, 07:42 AM
Why change harness? Use your original sensor. Just change the housing to 3"

RTe
07-26-2010, 11:53 AM
I believe the stock one will go overload with K04-20..

FasterA4ThanUrs
07-26-2010, 12:47 PM
I believe the stock one will go overload with K04-20..

I doubt it... there are plenty of BT cars (much bigger than k04-20) running stock sensor in a bigger housing.

Finneid90
07-26-2010, 12:50 PM
It is the software that determines what range it work on.. Do i belive..
(I use 3" maf housing and stock sensor on my gt28rs setup)

FasterA4ThanUrs
07-26-2010, 01:03 PM
It is the software that determines what range it work on.. Do i belive..
(I use 3" maf housing and stock sensor on my gt28rs setup)

well obv, but it sounds like someone told him he needs a tt225 maf for the tune and he assumed he needed the whole thing sensor and housing, which is probably not the case. Ive heard of many tunes using the bigger tt225 housing, but never heard of them using the tt sensor. Not to say some tunes dont call for an aftermarket sensor all together like some of the eurodyne/tapp stuff.

gmx
07-26-2010, 10:05 PM
It is the software that determines what range it work on.. Do i belive..
(I use 3" maf housing and stock sensor on my gt28rs setup)

Exactly. What MAF is the software written for?


Well, housing is already fitted..
Change harness <- any specific info on this? That would be perfect. It not, we will go for 034/VR6

Also VR6 part number would be cool to have
Thanks for your reply

There is no PN for housings, this is what makes it tricky and a bit confusing. THe PNs you gave above are MAF PNs, but they will come with housings. VW/Audi do not "sell" housings separate. I recommend going to 034 and getting their billet housing for the AEB or get in touch with wreckers. I know a VR6 housing will work for AEB style MAF Element specifically from a MK3 Golf VR6 (OBDI)

You need to unscrew (I think its a hex or torx, forgot) the element from the standard AEB Housing and insert it in the bigger housing(ie VR6).
An AEB Element will not work in a OBDII or TT225 housing.
I don't have any pics of my VR6 Housing but here's the problem I ran into with the TT225 Housing.
TT MAF & AEB MAF Housings side by side respectively:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2535/4097051999_6c921e55d6.jpg

Not only is the sensor clocked in the wrong position, it physically will not fit. The incision is shaped differently.


AEB Element & Housing side by side:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2676/4097808722_548334f4b9.jpg

Changing the MAF element to the TT will require new harness and ECU + other associated sensors & hardware to complete the swap. Assuming you already got software, you don't need this (& this direct result of a confusion)
Otherwise, please provide more info. An easier way is to just identify what MAF(not housing, leave that out of the equation for now) the software is written for.

ECS Tuning-Audi
07-27-2010, 11:07 AM
We have Vr6 Maf's available. However, they do come with the element that you'll need to swap out for your AEB element. If you decide to go this route, the MAF for a VR6 12v (OBD I) is available from this link (http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-Golf_III--VR6_12v/Engine/Intake/Air_Mass_Sensor/?salesrep=jmarusic&utm_source=audizine&utm_medium=forum&utm_content=jmarusic&utm_campaign=postreply). I'll throw up a picture so you can see how the swap differs from a TT housing. If you want to save a few dollars by not going to a billet piece, this is a great option.

http://c1552172.cdn.cloudfiles.rackspacecloud.com/63705_x800.jpg (http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-Golf_III--VR6_12v/Engine/Intake/Air_Mass_Sensor/?salesrep=jmarusic&utm_source=audizine&utm_medium=forum&utm_content=jmarusic&utm_campaign=postreply)

b5v6
06-26-2011, 04:11 PM
can the VR6 sensor element be used on the AEB?

Since my MAF is the original (12 yrs old) and I need VR6 (obdI) housing, I'd be interested in buying the whole VR6 element if it is compatible.

SR-71
06-26-2011, 06:51 PM
can the VR6 sensor element be used on the AEB?

Since my MAF is the original (12 yrs old) and I need VR6 (obdI) housing, I'd be interested in buying the whole VR6 element if it is compatible.

Yes you can but you'll need a tune since VR maf is bigger than AEB. ATP Turbo sells just the sensors for cheap.

gmx
06-27-2011, 07:12 AM
People have used the VR sensor on a tune designed around the AEB sensor successfully. Give it a search, most report it runs a tiny bit leaner.

b5v6
06-27-2011, 10:05 AM
any links? pretty hard to search for this stuff, reason I brought this thread back up.

b5v6
06-27-2011, 10:27 AM
nevermind, found some stuff, best to keep with the 1.8T sensor so I bought the larger housing from ATP.

bmarshall
06-27-2011, 03:31 PM
Dear All,
Some help needed..

We are building an AEB on K04-020. Everything is almost done, but we stuck with a problem. We have TT MAF, which should work for this software. But we could not find any pin-out diagrams to connect our ECU to this MAF. It has 5 pins, when old had only 4. Colors are different too..
Thanks in advance, any help appreciated.

Some data:
ECU: 8D0 907 557 - 0261 203 550/551
OLD MAF: 0280217112
NEW MAF: 06A906461E

Where did you get the software from for this 96 aeb ecu?

Doug@FrankenTurbo
06-27-2011, 07:21 PM
Dear All,
Some help needed..

We are building an AEB on K04-020. Everything is almost done, but we stuck with a problem. We have TT MAF, which should work for this software.


RTe

What software will you be using? Does it call for a specific MAF configuration? If not, you should combine an OBD1 VR6 MAF housing (pictured above) with your current sensor. These two parts are compatible. With this metering in place you can now proceed with tuning. I do not believe any other approach will work on a turbo of that capacity.

vtraudt
02-28-2013, 08:13 PM
YVR maf is bigger than AEB.

Can some measure the stock AEB MAF ID/OD and the VR6 (MK3) MAF ID/OD?

The one I have on hand is 69mm ID, but NOT sure if it is a VR6 or else; it is called a 3" MAF (I am pretty sure neither one is 2.75" or 3" as they are erroneously called; would be strange if those guys in Wolfsburg and Ingolstadt all of a sudden use imperial dimensions for designing their car/engine components).

To properly adjust the tune for a larger MAF, the correct dimensions are required.

demonmk2
03-01-2013, 03:38 PM
what kind of intake setup do you have? if its stock then I highly doubt its a vr6 housing I run one and they are substantially bigger than the stock one.
and yes... thay are around 2.75" OD
for most tunes a 2.75 and/or 3" housing will work they are close enough to each other that it would not make much of a difference unless you are going for huge numbers ( hp )