PDA

View Full Version : Need help figuring out these dimples in the quarter panel -looking at buying this car

Satummoo
07-21-2010, 01:30 PM
So there is a really cheap 2000 a4 avant with 135k with no accidents on carfax. Now there are a few sketch details, the person bought it from a dealer and is selling it 1 month later but is asking 4,200$. However, on both rear quarter panels, there are some ripples and imperfections. I couldn't tell of any respraying but i'm not an expert but it's on both sides but feel kinda minor. Could it be possible the rear was in a wreck or could it just be two dents that are in both rear panels?

I plan on wrapping the car with vinyl so the paint imperfections don't bother me but I don't want a car that's structurally weak or I will have suspension/handling problems. Any suggestions?

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b33/Satummoo/07192010048.jpg
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b33/Satummoo/07192010045.jpg
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b33/Satummoo/07192010042.jpg

stubbs
07-21-2010, 01:59 PM
Looks like it's been around a few shopping carts, that's all. I doubt it's serious.

AudiNFS
07-21-2010, 02:12 PM
I wouldn't worry much either. it's a 10 year old car, there's bound to be minor ware and tear.

EuroDriven
07-21-2010, 03:37 PM
My friend is a dealer and buys and sells cars privately, offer him less. They usually almost always double their money.

zrowcool
07-21-2010, 05:35 PM
it looks like he put something in the trunk and it pushed those dimple out, i had the same from putting stuff in my trunk. if the rest of the car is clean i'd go for it. he probably bout it for around 3 grand so i would start my offer around 3500

Satummoo
07-21-2010, 08:00 PM