PDA

View Full Version : Help me build a b5 A4

p8nt
06-06-2010, 01:43 PM
I work as an account exec and drive about 600 miles a week. Although the 01 Civic I have currently has been a great car, I need something more fun to drive.

i was planning on a b5 S4, but the S4 folk quickly talked me out of that. Many of them did however suggest a tuned A4. The car has to be reliable and drivable first and foremost.

Im unsure what to do with the engine. This is not going to be tracked and I'm not looking for huge HP. 250hp would be great. So: If I opt for a 2001 with the K03s, what the most that turbo will produce? I understand Ill have a hard time getting to 250hp with the k03s, but I I can get close I could put that money towards suspension parts.

Or, should I look for a pre 2001 and go with a RP k04-015?

Hardware I had in mind was: TT225 injectors and MAF, Test pipe and cat back of your recommendation, FMIC and software to run it all.

Thanks for your advice in advance. I know there is a ton of info out there and I did search, just looking to consolidate all of it.

Clint

black99.5a4
06-06-2010, 01:50 PM
any of the ko3 cars, compared, are very much the same.. you might hit 170-180awhp on a fully modded aggressively tuned ko3 and that might be on the high side.

ko4, imo, the AEB cars have the most aggressive tuning for it in the form of GIACs PC-16 file. Even that, will only yield you 200-205.

If you want a solid 250awhp.

imo,

i'd go with a atp t25 manifold, garret gt2860, 440cc injectors, whatever MAF ur tuner says to use, FMIC (basically like the APR Stage 3+ kit, but with a tad bit more aggressive tuning)

You are looking at a heavy car with a very small turbo and a motor that doesnt flow near others of the same size.

njm23
06-06-2010, 01:50 PM
250whp? your not getting either of those unless you get a larger turbo (gt28 would get you there) andI would go for a 2001 since you can get a MAF-less tune and save yourself the hassle of an intake setup.

Seerlah