PDA

View Full Version : need help ko4. i fkin give up



stack
06-05-2010, 08:35 AM
i disconnected most of the bolts and lines.
but the 2 allen key bolts for the oil return. no way. no room
i am doing this in my driveway.
i am in brooklyn anyone care to help.
i will pay $$$

biketsai
06-05-2010, 08:51 AM
Take a pic. it CAN be done.

stack
06-05-2010, 09:00 AM
my friend has my canon
yea i know it can.
but its those to allen bolts at the bottom. that connect the line to the oil pan

nagle10
06-05-2010, 09:00 AM
are you using a torx socket?

BING
06-05-2010, 09:03 AM
will wait for pics . .

stack
06-05-2010, 09:25 AM
not its the hex keys...ok ama try to take some pics

biketsai
06-05-2010, 09:29 AM
I know exactly what you are talking about. If you can get it slightly loosened, finish it off with some pliers

stack
06-05-2010, 09:40 AM
i am starting to hate german cars
no thought in bolt removal.
there barley enough room to put my hand in
but as jermey clarkson said,,,,,,how hard can it be

nunya
06-05-2010, 10:18 AM
Some people just dont have the patience to work on cars. Its a fact.

--dillon

geeky
06-05-2010, 10:18 AM
It definitely can be done, I've swapped in a replacement K03, K03S and then the K04. You just need to be creative with your tools like someone posted earlier.

Actually I think the easier way to do those two bolts you are talking about is to unbolt the turbo oil return line from the oil pan and pull that up along with the turbo (from the top, obviously) and once that is out you have easy accessibility to those two bolts on the turbo. That's how I did it, atleast if I'm imagining the right two bolts. Its a slight pain to get it back on, so put the oil drain line back on the new turbo while it is out and slowly maneuver the oil drain back into position. This is the harder part to do and make sure not to kink the hose.

stack
06-05-2010, 10:33 AM
yea i did that.
the turbo is finally out
gonna do like you said...
now putting the ko4 back in is gonna be..%%$#@*&^!$&*(
my dad is losing his mind.
ugh...but i must do this

geeky
06-05-2010, 10:40 AM
Putting it back in is the easy part. Just take your time and make sure to use new gaskets + PRIME THE TURBO before you start the motor.

What software are you planning on running with the K04 btw?

edit: have you done the suspension yet?

bigblue
06-05-2010, 11:00 AM
Prime the turbo?

2001A4QUATTRO
06-05-2010, 11:48 AM
Crank the car over with the ignition disabled so the oil can circulate to the turbo without it spinning at a high RPM. If you do not do this then the turbo is dry for the first 15-20 secs after you start it. Try spinning at 5-15k with no oil...

stack
06-05-2010, 12:00 PM
Crank the car over with the ignition disabled so the oil can circulate to the turbo without it spinning at a high RPM. If you do not do this then the turbo is dry for the first 15-20 secs after you start it. Try spinning at 5-15k with no oil...

yea i will do that
currently setting up the ko4
i will prime it up of course

and yes i i did the suspension =)

stack
06-05-2010, 12:03 PM
oh yea and giac pc 16

geeky
06-05-2010, 12:48 PM
you'll love it from stock. Hell I went from stock to the GIAC 91 oct to PC-16 and i loveee it.

stack
06-05-2010, 01:11 PM
you'll love it from stock. Hell I went from stock to the GIAC 91 oct to PC-16 and i loveee it.

haha i hope i do
150 hp just isnt enough
how much will i have with giac?

flynnr
06-05-2010, 02:34 PM
you have a fuel pressure regulator and injectors right?

make sure to put the FPR at 2.8 bar

stack
06-05-2010, 02:58 PM
you have a fuel pressure regulator and injectors right?

make sure to put the FPR at 2.8 bar
hell no
not just yet

b5v6
06-05-2010, 03:29 PM
how do you run p16 without injectors or fpr? i'd stick with the stock ecu until you get EVERYTHING.

geeky
06-05-2010, 05:09 PM
how do you run p16 without injectors or fpr? i'd stick with the stock ecu until you get EVERYTHING.

this. The pc16 tune specifically calls for the injectors, fmic, fpr, etc. if you don't have those yet, just run the K04 w/ your stock tune, it'll be fine.

As for how much power, most PC16 builds see about 200awhp, so about 280chp compared to the stock 160chp on a prefacelift car. I bought my injectors from CTSturbo/clay for $150 shipped and pocketed a 3.0bar fpr from a junk yard for free. Most NA VW's run a 3.0bar fpr which is what is called for with this tune. I have heard that running an adj fpr at 2.7/2.8 can be better, but haven't really looked into. The 3.0bar + 310 high imp red top bosch + fmic are directly called for for the tune by GIAC.

Seerlah
06-05-2010, 05:28 PM
Be sure to have the oil return line in the proper orientation when re-installing. If not, it's a headache waiting to happen.

stack
06-05-2010, 05:51 PM
6 heniken's later......i am done
finnaly holy shit..its hot out.
the car runs.
oil is in.

flynnr
06-06-2010, 09:44 AM
nice!

and yeah i run an adjustable FPR set at 2.7 - 2.8 bar

car runs solid