PDA

View Full Version : Intercooler Spray: Nitrous or Methanol?

PuntA4
05-26-2010, 05:28 AM
I was thinking of getting some type of boost cooler. But I heard that you can spray methanol into your intercooler because it will lock up the turbo and everything. But basically I was wonder if anyone had some ideas or could help my out with understanding it all because im new to both kinds, and dont know what I would have to do for either one. And would I have to change any internals or is there any harm in either one?

Thanks

http://www.prostreetonline.com/x/nx-n-tercooler-kit.asp (Nitrous)

http://www.kineticmotorsport.com/products/STAGE_2_A4_1_8T_BOOST_COOLER-897-279.html (Methanol)

champion
05-26-2010, 07:14 AM
neither

Direct port nitrous FTW

Scotty@Advanced
05-26-2010, 07:33 AM
Are you spraying it on your inter-cooler, or into the engine?

If your spraying your inter-cooler (externally) then liquid CO2 is the way to go. Nitrous or methanol should be put into your engine.

PuntA4
05-26-2010, 09:00 AM
Obviously into the engine would work better, but which is safer so I dont need to change or worry about any internals?

runvsofme07
05-26-2010, 12:22 PM
Water meth.. FTW

bandit
05-26-2010, 03:48 PM
Obviously into the engine would work better, but which is safer so I dont need to change or worry about any internals?

Dude, if your looking to cool your IAT's just go with a water/methanol kit. As far as spraying the intercooler just go with C02. No internal work needed.

LightSwitch
05-26-2010, 06:52 PM
Water meth.. FTW

Agreed.

A4Rob
05-26-2010, 09:36 PM
Are you spraying it on your inter-cooler, or into the engine?

If your spraying your inter-cooler (externally) then liquid CO2 is the way to go. Nitrous or methanol should be put into your engine.