PDA

View Full Version : quick, dumb, noob question. drain plug size



revolution337
04-14-2010, 04:05 PM
so i need to get a new oil drain plug, and i was going to get the ecs tuning magnetic one. they have 2 different sizes. (26x1.5 and 14x1.5) i cant check on my car now, and i want to make sure before i order it. thanks guys.

destrolock
04-14-2010, 04:06 PM
What year is your car my friend?

revolution337
04-14-2010, 04:08 PM
sorry, i just realized i didnt say that. 2001 A4 AWM quattro manual

destrolock
04-14-2010, 04:10 PM
1.8t?

destrolock
04-14-2010, 04:12 PM
oops yes I see awm sorry.. give me a sec.

myb5quattro
04-14-2010, 04:15 PM
Do we really need to replace the oil drain plug with each oil change?

B5A4Kevin
04-14-2010, 04:18 PM
its a 19mm head m14x1.5 bolt. ive never used the magnetic drain plugs, but ive heard horror stories of the magnet falling off and disappearing. in my opinion, theres too much ferrous metal in a crank case to warrant a rogue magnet that wants to free-roam. examples include oil pump, pickup tube screen/strainer, crank, connecting rods.

but if you want a magnetic drainplug, its the 14.

destrolock
04-14-2010, 04:18 PM
Ok I have an awm as well and its 14x1.5. Hope this helps.

On a side note the ecs plug is a little soft metal wise, be careful not to strip it.

Luckily for me I use an oil extractor so I only remove the drain plug every 4 or 5 changes.

revolution337
04-14-2010, 04:22 PM
thanks for the help.

myb5quattro
04-14-2010, 04:53 PM
How often do we need to replace the drain plug?

turbo kraut
04-14-2010, 04:57 PM
you only need to replace the plug when you round it or f it up in some other way, you should replace the gasket every change

i have had cars since i was 16 and never replaced a plug

myb5quattro
04-14-2010, 05:47 PM
Oh! I forgot about the gasket. That's what is was. I read somewhere that we're supposed to replace it but forgot the gasket part of the name. Why do we need to replace it? And what happens if we don't? Thanks for the help

Dallas09
04-14-2010, 06:16 PM
There is a copper crush washer on the plug that is supposed to be replaced after each change. Ill reuse them though and they work for a while, they might just start to leak a little bit if you keep reusing them.