PDA

View Full Version : i think my cruse controll died



Jc61990
01-23-2010, 12:08 AM
so on my way home from work today i tried to turn my cruse on, and for some reason it just wouldnt set. so after pressing set and resume like 900 times it finally set. so i think it lasted a whole 5 min cause out of no where my boost gauge was reading -30 and my speed was dropping, so i was like wtf press accel on the cruse, and it wouldn't accelerate. so i turned it off. drove for about 15 min, tried it again, it flipped right on this time it did the same thing only it just lasted a little longer before cutting out..

so.. is my cruse dieing? or is it dead?

h4robkr123
01-23-2010, 10:51 AM
Same thing happens to mine, some days it will work great, other days it takes quite a bit of persuading to get it set. Sounds like the stalk is on its way out, but you might not need to replace it as mine will still work after persuasion and it has been this way since I bought the car two and a half years ago.

B5A4Kevin
01-23-2010, 11:03 AM
replace your stalk. do a search on it. very common issue. this can also cause problems with your lowbeams/highbeams as they are both on the same assembly.

flynnr
01-24-2010, 10:46 AM
is there a DIY on this swap? i need to do this as well

Inval1d
01-24-2010, 11:58 AM
I replaced my stalk but the cruise control still doesnt work. whats the next step?

erikas3
01-24-2010, 12:11 PM
I replaced my stalk but the cruise control still doesnt work. whats the next step?
Next step is to take out the cruise control module which is located above the glove box and resolder the connections. It's really easy and no more than a 15min job. I had almost no soldering experience and ended up fixing the module myself.

http://forums.audiworld.com/showthread.php?t=1728645
^ Link includes pictures of the connections that need to be resoldered. (Scroll halfway down)

Inval1d
01-24-2010, 01:41 PM
Shweeet. Good thing I have a soldering kit that I use when I work on computers.

Jc61990
01-24-2010, 06:07 PM
i think the stalk is fine, my highs and lows have 0 issues. its just that cruse doesnt want to kick in. ill try re soldering the module and working from there since that doesnt cost money

Inval1d
01-24-2010, 07:21 PM
I just got done re soldering the module and took the car for a drive and it works! Thanks!!