PDA

View Full Version : Vag-Com + Programming FoB



blackhat
01-22-2010, 12:24 PM
I only have 1 key for my A4, I'm wondering if its possible to program my key fob for my car w/ Vag-Com & the crappy ebay cable?.. I have a 99.5.. donno if that makes a difference..

I hear some ebay cables work and some don't work at all either... for those of you that had success who did you buy your cable from?

mholme
01-22-2010, 12:50 PM
Is this a brand new key you're trying to program?

blackhat
01-22-2010, 12:54 PM
Old key, but no longer works since I changed the door lock vacuum pump about a year ago.. never really cared but just wondering if I can get the FoB to work again by getting a cable

mholme
01-22-2010, 01:05 PM
I want to say yes, the key programming and sofware coding of the central electronics can be done without a licensed VAG-COM cable. But you may still need two keys for what you're trying to do.

ECS Tuning-Audi
01-22-2010, 01:10 PM
I'm not sure if you have a working key, if you do you shouldn't need a VAG com. Try this:

1. Take the key you DO NOT want to program and put it in the ignition. Turn it one click forward.
2. Close and lock the drivers door with the second key.
3. On the second key (the one in the drivers door) press the 'UNLOCK' button ONCE only. The lights will flash on the car, but the doors will remain locked
4. With the second key still in the drivers door, unlock then lock the door again.
5. Pull the key from the slot and test remote functions.
6. Open drivers door, remove key from ignition.

If both of your remotes don't work, do the above for the first key, but on step #3, press the 'UNLOCK' button twice. The lights will flash twice, then continue on with step #4. Also, it may be a good idea to do this with the windows down in case you accidentally lock yourself out somehow.

You can program a key with vagcom as well if this fails for whatever reason. For vag com programming: http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/cars/vw-remote-matching.html

You can do it with the generic cable, but I don't think you can do it with the free software?

ThatA4T
01-22-2010, 01:10 PM
are you sure you only have one key? i had a plastic valet key in my glove box that worked for me

blackhat
01-22-2010, 01:12 PM
im positive I only have 1 key for my car.

mholme
01-22-2010, 01:20 PM
I don't think you're going to have much luck with just one key.

RoadRage
01-25-2010, 04:29 PM
I'm not sure if you have a working key, if you do you shouldn't need a VAG com. Try this:

1. Take the key you DO NOT want to program and put it in the ignition. Turn it one click forward.
2. Close and lock the drivers door with the second key.
3. On the second key (the one in the drivers door) press the 'UNLOCK' button ONCE only. The lights will flash on the car, but the doors will remain locked
4. With the second key still in the drivers door, unlock then lock the door again.
5. Pull the key from the slot and test remote functions.
6. Open drivers door, remove key from ignition.

If both of your remotes don't work, do the above for the first key, but on step #3, press the 'UNLOCK' button twice. The lights will flash twice, then continue on with step #4. Also, it may be a good idea to do this with the windows down in case you accidentally lock yourself out somehow.

You can program a key with vagcom as well if this fails for whatever reason. For vag com programming: http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/cars/vw-remote-matching.html

You can do it with the generic cable, but I don't think you can do it with the free software?

I tried this the other day. It did nothing. I've also tried every other way found on the internet. No success. I'm pretty sure Vag Com is the only way to do it.

'98-B5
01-25-2010, 04:41 PM
I tried this the other day. It did nothing. I've also tried every other way found on the internet. No success. I'm pretty sure Vag Com is the only way to do it.

Try putting in your key into the ignition, turn it in to standby, and hold the unlock button for 5 seconds or so. Pull key out of ignition and test your key. I did this to my spare FOB and it worked. Locking and unlocking worked.

nyca4tqm
01-26-2010, 09:13 AM
Start at the beginning, did you get the right FCC ID remote? remote batteries? good? Then you have to clear the channels on your car, there are 4 if my memory serves me right. After that only then you can program the remote to your car. This is the procedure I used
You need 2 keys..I suggest you put a window all the way down in the event of an issue. FYI I have a 98 B5 A4. This worked for me, try it.

Clearing of Memory positions.

- Switch ignition on using one key.
- Lock vehicle from outside at driver's door using separate key.
- Press "unlock" button on the remote transmitter key 5 times in one second intervals.
The emergency flashers and or the anti theft system horn confirms every press of the button.
- After 6 seconds, press the remote transmitter "unlock" button to confirm the memory positions are now cleared. The central locking system should not unlock.
- Switch the ignition off.
- Up to 4 keys can now be coded again.

Coding procedure. 2 keys are required for this also. Be sure that keys being coded are coded to free memory spots, if not the remotes previously programmed will no longer work.

- switch the ignition on using one key
- lock the vehicle from outside the drivers door using the key to be coded
- press "unlock" button within 5 seconds often enough to reach the next memory position (ie push 2 times for memory slot 2)

The emergency flashers and or the anti theft horn willl confirm every press of the button

- wait 5 seconds.
- now press "unlock" button one more time (vehicle unlocks)
- switch the ignition off and remove the ignition key
- check function of the new transmitter

Procedure for re-coding an existing transmitter

- press "lock" or "unlock" button of the remote transmitter
- within 30 seconds, lock and unlock the vehicle using the driver side lock. (this means with the key in the lock)
- now check function of the re-coded remote transmission.


Good luck, let us know if you need more help....
__________________