PDA

View Full Version : questions/advice please...

jmgraham78
01-20-2010, 08:31 PM
No I am a NOOB. Not to these kind of forums, just audi in general. I joined a couple days ago to do as much research as I can on a 97 1.8tQ I am considering picking up.

General set up: (at least this is what I am being told)
**Complete S4 suspension and wheels and brakes (new brakes, just done 2K miles ago)
**New stock turbo, turbo lines, and hoses
**Brand new coil packs (all 4)
**Aparently the car has a dual intercooler setup now, I could not spot the second one while looking at it, and I know they are super inefficient in this car.
**According to current owner the car is chipped, again I did not verify. Based on some posts the easiest way to tell is simply pull the ECU cover and I should see something more than stock.
**Brand new stock clutch less than 3000 miles ago.

On to a couple questions if I may...

1. I drove the car the other day and I know max torque is around 22-2500 RPM, and coming from a 1.6L civic I did not feel near the pull I anticipated with the audi, especially if it is chipped, and has a 2nd intercooler. Should I really be able to feel a noticable difference? Nothing tossed my ass back in the seat...

2. The car has 172K on it as it sits and the price is 4500. No misfires or anything of the sort, so do I really need to test the compression?

3. For those of you with experience in these cars and based on the above mentionings, can I get some advice/suggestions if some of you all were in my shoes?

I appreciate the time/knowledge and replies in advance,

J [race]

dangerous_dave
01-20-2010, 08:44 PM
The turbo doesn't even spool at 2200 rpm. Max torque is at 5500. Wind the shit out of 3rd gear and you will feel it.

dangerous_dave
01-20-2010, 08:45 PM
4500 is too rich for my blood.

JEmm
01-20-2010, 09:25 PM
I'd skip that one.